And the Winner Is… YOU

Do you see yourself as a winner? Do you feel energized and engaged in your daily adventure? What gets you out of bed each morning? Does it bring you joy? How do you become the Star in the movie of your life?

Do I have all the answers to these questions? No. However, like my GPS, I am going to share with you some ways to “recalculate” and bring new direction and joy into your life.

Here’s what triggered my need for self-examination.

I’m not a crier. At least not in public. Yet recently I wept. Yes, openly for all to see, the kind of crying that ruins makeup and produces red splotches on my face. Most unattractive, but what could I do? There was no holding back.

Cathy MaxwellLast Thursday at the Romance Writers of America Luncheon, author Cathy Maxwell’s keynote speech made me sniffle, then tears dribble from the corners of my eyes. She shared the story of her writing journey, including her first conference where she brought bread and peanut butter to keep food expenses low.

That folks is true dedication to learning craft and pursuing competence. Cathy invoked the battle cry, “Don’t give up!”

I wondered how she knew about the growing voice of my self-doubt. I cried because she passionately challenged me to believe in myself. Even now, it brings tears to my eyes seeing her at the podium raising her fist in solidarity. Thank you, Cathy, for your inspiring words.

Higgins KristanOn Friday, Kristan Higgins took the stage as the featured speaker during the Awards Luncheon. She started out very funny. But then she spoke of the power of words. Kristan read letters from her readers, dark stories of painful lives–abuse, death, despair–made brighter by reading her books. I know the pain of some of those readers…and that is a story for a different post.

I contemplated what I would write about this week, especially in the wake of hearing the journeys of such accomplished writers. How would I squelch my self-doubt? Could I push the darkness away and join Cathy’s Maxwell’s charge? How could I learn more about writing so that I might, someday, touch people’s lives as Kristan Higgins has?

Embracing my fears and flaws, I am recalculating my path, seeking joy and self-acceptance.

You don’t have to be a writer to embrace triumph in your life.

MP900302988 Keys

Here’s what I believe is important ~

Passion. Yes, I am a romance writer, but I’m not referring to ardent affection, instead I mean the intense driving feelings that urge us onward in life. I am passionate about writing. Nothing brings me greater joy that to bring a story to life on paper. Passion can inspire great courage and provide us with a vision of what we can be.

Focus. Directed attention to accomplish goals. This follows the Law of Attraction- what we bring focus to, we can manifest in our life.

Learning. Develop the knowledge needed to reach your goals. Continue to grow as a person.

Perseverance. Continued efforts that merge your passion, focus and learning. Never give up.

Integrity. Be honest with yourself and others. Be yourself. Live your principles. Walk your path with perseverance.

I believe in these keys to success for all aspects of my life. There’s nothing wrong with reevaluating where you are in the moment.

I can hear my internal GPS squawking, “Recalculating. Recalculating.”

What about you? Are you living with passion, focus, learning, perseverance and integrity? You can, you know. And the winner of your efforts will be You!

Smiles,

Linda Joyce
http://www.linda-joyce.com

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Authentic Living, Learning, Writer's Life. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to And the Winner Is… YOU

  1. bookpeeps says:

    Love this post, Linda. Your question to yourself: “How could I learn more about writing so that I might, someday, touch people’s lives as Kristan Higgins has?” You already do touch others in a deep and positive way. I guess you just didn’t know it! 🙂

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Bookpeeps,

      I appreciate the vote of confidence. I always hope to leave a positive imprint, but I’m not always sure. You made me smile! Thank you for that. 🙂

      Linda

  2. Jackie Rod says:

    Great notes covering two fantastic speakers. Cathy Maxwell made me cry, and Kristan Higgins made me laugh, also. You don’t need to recalculate your inner GPS as often as you think. We had this conversation two years ago–you are a delightful person, so live with it, Linda!!!

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Jackie,

      Self-doubt is not eradicated in days or weeks…or even years in my case. I always appreciate your encouragement. And, I exchanged notes with Cathy Maxwell. She was born and raised in the city in Kansas where I used to live. Her parents live not far, maybe a few miles, from where I used to live, and very close to the off-the-leash park where I used to run the boys. (Sure do miss that park!) Connections are important to me and I treasure the one I have with you.

      Hugs!

  3. reneeregent says:

    Great post! Those speeches had the same effect on me, as well. I began “recalculating” as soon as I was home- I deleted all game apps from my phone. it’s a small step, but now when I have a few minutes somewhere, I will read. One of many steps I am using to refocus on my passion, which is the same as yours- writing. And, yes, you have already touched many lives, and will continue to do so, I have no doubt!

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Renee,

      Thanks for the note! I’m a very task oriented person and I learned so much at the conference that I want to apply to my writing. It’s making my head swim. I used to read before going to sleep, but got away from that. I cleared all the magazines from my side table and now it’s stacked with novels I can’t wait to dig into.

      Smiles,

      Linda

  4. Sherry Isaac says:

    Perseverance is my challenge this overwhelming year, Linda. Thanks for this post. Hm. The star of my own life, you say? That’s some powerful MoJo for thought. Also, a good kick in the keister. Who’s driving this bus, anyway?

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Sherry,

      Yes, that is the challenge, to be the STAR of your own life. 🙂 Because in truth, no one but you can do justice to the role.
      AND, being empowered sounds to incredibly easy, yet it requires courage. You’ve got it! 🙂

      Smiles,

      Linda

  5. jolenenavarro says:

    Nice post. I found you on SEP facebook status. 🙂 Keep writing.

  6. Wonderful note, and i am happy to have discovered your blog through Susan’s note in Facebook, as after I added one of my blog to it I begun to read through the other comments. Your note tells me a lot. Speaks to me. Tells me also I am on a good path. Learning, even as I approach 80 to speak in public better and better and also learning humour and comedy. Teaching others to tell about their life that can be so useful, giving courage to others. I also agree with your principle, also “INTERGRITY” should not mean to stick how you were, because we can change, should perhaps change and evolve as we learn and discover. PERSEVERANCE was my virtue perhaps but some told me also my default. How long till we seek another way? But most of the time it pays to persevere (as me lately in Standup Comedy) or to go back to what I loved before when possible (learning more) for example at late age of 40 and even now. I will try to listen to the speeches hoping there is a link to it. I did follow the journey of perseverance with my french blog “il y a de la vie après 70 ans” there is life after 70 begun when i was almost 70 and continued every morning now for more then 9 years, a great discipline to write day by day. It did not produce a novel, but gave CONFIDENCE so necessary to many of many ages, yes, even to me. My main english blog is now http://competentcommunicator.blogspot.co.uk/ in case you are interested with links of my stories, and other’s speeches and videos in it. I will perhaps even add those you mentioned inside it. Thanks for opening up to us, that always brings nearer to us.

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Julie,

      YOU are an inspiring woman! Thank you for sharing your story with me. I appreciate that you took the time to leave me a note. And, maybe our journeys will bring us together…I’d love to see your comedy act.

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

  7. Patrick Hempfing says:

    Linda, this was an awesome post. Keep following your internal GPS. I see big things in your future. Thanks for the motivation.

Leave a Reply

