National Attraction!

Welcome to my sunny corner of the south. I’m off to RWA Nationals today.

Before I depart, I want to leave you with a tasty read ~ the Tasty Summer Reads blog hop hosted by Avon Romance.

Here’s how it works. Each author answers five questions about their latest release and current WIP, and posts a delectable recipe pertaining thereto. Then each author invites five more authors to participate and links them all.

Thanks for inviting me to play Juli D. Revezzo

My current book: Bayou Bound is in the final production stage. I don’t have a cover to show you yet, but I promise it’s coming soon.

Author of Santorini Sunset, Claire Croxton said this about Bayou Bound: As if the bayou needed more heat and steam! Step aside Shakespeare. Linda Joyce adds southern charm, and a much happier ending, to this modern day Romeo and Juliet.

Here’s a peek into the journey of Biloxi Dutrey and Nick Trahan.
Bayou Boardwalk

Photographer Biloxi Dutrey aches from missing home and grounds her jet-setting career to return to Mississippi. She has a plan save Fleur de Lis, the family home, from financial ruin by scooping up the job of Keeper, the one she’s always wanted. Only her family isn’t cooperating.

Veterinarian Nick Trahan is new in town and wants his clients to stop playing matchmaker. He won’t settle for just a pretty face. He wants the perfect woman, one who believes deeply in family and lifetime commitments.

Nick rescues Biloxi during a storm, but it’s tame compared to the tempest between them. Soon they experience the backlash of the long-standing clash between their families. If Biloxi surrenders her dream to be Fleur de Lis’ Keeper and tows the line with tradition, will she also be forced give up on a ‘forever love’ with Nick over hate their families still harbor for each other?

For a look at the cover of Bayou Born, book one in the Fleur de Lis series, Please scroll down to see it.

Here’s insights into me ~

1) When writing are you a snacker? If so, sweet or salty?

MP900314309  popcorn

Snacking! It hits me about 3 pm most days. Crunchy is what I love. Dark chocolate with nuts. Potato chips. Cheese curls. Popcorn. Salty or sweet, matters not. My requirement is crunch.

2) Are you an outliner or someone who flies by the seat of their pants? Are they real pants or jammies?

Hmmm, just as I’m bicultural, Asian-Cajun, I’m also a writing plotter and pants-er. I know my characters. I know their crisis, conflict, and concerns. I know how the story ends. BUT, in between…my characters drive the show, which I think causes me to rewrite more. (I hope to refine that process and to include more humor into my stories.) Pants or Jammies? It’s summer in the south, I’m wearing shorts.

3) When cooking or baking, do you follow the recipe exactly or wing it?

I do not bake. I repeat, I do not bake. It requires precision measurements to make things rise, or make crusts flakey, or have the right about of crunch verses chewy. Lucky for me, my husband does a bit of baking. He is famous for his sweet potato pecan pie. I cook. (I was much better than I am now- use or lose it…and I’m losing it.) I enjoy cooking. I make big batches of things like gumbo or pesto and freeze them for easy reheats.

4) What is next for you after this book?

I am working on two projects. I’m writing book three of the Fleur de Lis series-Back to the Bayou. It’s about Branna’s sister, Camilla (Branna is book one, and Camilla makes an appearance late in that book) who struggles to redeem herself and is trying to get home to Fleur de Lis.

I’m also working on a story about three women, once childhood best friends, their friend forged by a secret. They grew apart after high school, and then are reunited when a pivotal man in their lives dies. Jane, Suzanne and Maggie come together as the ex-wife, sister, and widow of Mark Maucele. Only now, when they need each other the most, the secrets the hide from each other threatens to their friendship apart forever.

5) Last Question…on a level of one being slightly naughty to ten being whoo whoo steamy, where does your book land?
This is always a hard question for me because I think the determination ultimate rests with the reader. I have a friend who thinks the intimate scenes in my stories are really hot, but then, she doesn’t read erotica…so trying to be objective, on a 1-10 scale, I’d say my stories are a 6, maybe 7 in the heat scale.

Now for some bayou heat!
Photo taken from Cooking with Elise

Jambalaya

This is my Shrimp and Andouille Jambalaya

Serves 4-6

Ingredients:
1 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 lb andouille sausage, cut into 1/4 inch slices
1 onion, chopped
2 celery ribs, chopped
1 small green bell pepper, diced
1 small red bell pepper, diced
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
1/4 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 1/2 cups rice
1 (14 ounce) can tomatoes, chopped,with liquid.
2 cups broth – vegetable or seafood
8 ounces medium shrimp, peeled and deveined
3 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
3 green onions, finely chopped

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a large pan or Dutch oven, add andouille, onion, celery, bell peppers, thyme, oregano, paprika, salt, and cayenne pepper. Cook and stir until onions are tender, about 5 minutes.

Add rice, tomatoes with juice, and broth; bring to a boil.

Place rice mixture in a greased baking dish; cover (foil works) and bake at 350 degrees F for 40-45 minutes, until rice is done.

Stir in shrimp, parsley, and green onions; cover again. Cook 5-8 minutes more until shrimp and turn bright pink (cooked through), then serve. Additional Crystal Sauce may be added for more heat.

**If you’re looking for a crock pot recipe, I’m suggesting this one at Food Renegad:

http://www.amazon.com/Bayou-Born-Fleur-Lis-ebook/dp/B00B9L1VAC/ref=sr_1_9?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1359997756&sr=1-9&keywords=Bayou+Born

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Books, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

