Anytime is Party Time

7 2 13 007Anytime is Party Time, especially in Louisiana.

My short story, Behind the Mask, features Mardi Gras and pirates and a love. The story is in the July edition of Hidden Desires Romance, a sixty-page magazine with short stories, poetry, and articles about beauty, pets, and lifestyle. There’s also an advice column, Ask Aphrodite. The best news? The magazine is free and only a click away: Hidden Desires Romance

The mask in the photo hangs on the wall in my office. It’s one of my favorites.

One of the most frequent questions I’m asked about writing is, “Where do you get your ideas?” I enjoyed writing Behind the Mask, and I won’t keep you guessing about the inspiration for the story. It’s set in the imaginary town of Ascension on the banks of the Mississippi River in Ascension Parrish, Louisiana. Nearby is the actual town of Donaldsonville where a pirate ship remains sunk in the river.

LE_PLI~1
(photo credit- Harfang)

Taken from ProjectNOLA.com : http://www.projectnola.com/the-news/news/42-fox-8/126767-sunken-french-replica-warship-occasionally-visible
(Information from: The Advocate Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press.)

Le Pelican was a full-sized wooden reproduction of a 1697 warship commanded by Pierre le Moyne, Sieur d’Iberville, on Hudson Bay in Canada.

The city bought the replica in May 2002 with $55,000 from the Donaldsonville-based Fort Butler Foundation. It sank that November and again in March 2004.

Several years ago while still living in Kansas, my husband surprised me with a trip for Valentine’s Day–plane tickets to Louis Armstrong International Airport in New Orleans, then a short drive west to Bittersweet Plantation for a long relaxing weekend. Some of you may be familiar with the renowned Chef John Folse, but did you know he owns Bittersweet Plantation, a bed and breakfast that caters to guests’ every whim?

How do you get there? The map gives the best visual.

http://mapq.st/14N8rPK

We wandered around town during our stay. Inspiration came to me like waves pounding a beach during a storm. I have a shipload of photos that will provide details when I begin the story I’m going to set in Donaldsonville. But I digress. While there, town still buzzed with the news of the sunken ship. I saw framed photos of it at a local gift shop. One picture in particular captured my attention. Early morning mist on the Mississippi River shrouded the water and the ship appeared to rise up from the mist.

Very magical.

So the now-sunken pirate ship, intended as a tourist attraction, became the anchor for my story, along with the laissez les bons temps rouler of Mardi Gras, and of course, the unbreakable connection of true love between Chalise and Chaz.

Happy Reading!

Linda Joyce
www.linda-joyce.com

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Mardi Gras, Romance, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

