Fleur de Lis & What’s Write for Me

Fleur de lis SIMPLE single

I apologize. I’ve been remiss. Not everyone knows what a Fleur de Lis is, and nor should they.

On Sunday, I visited an outlet jewelry store. I went straight for the charm section. I wanted to check prices for Fleur de Lis charms.

The sales woman gave me a brochure and said, “Those are all of our charms. We don’t carry the entire line in the store.”

I looked carefully through the small photos, but the one I sought wasn’t there. “A Fleur de Lis?” I asked. “Do you have them?”

The woman went to her manager and I overheard her ask, “What’s a Fleur de Lis?” He shrugged. I interrupted their chat and drew a rough sketch.

“Oh!” they said in unison, clearly recognizing the symbol. But, they don’t carry them.

Fleur de Lis is a French term. ‘Fleur’ means flower and ‘Lis’ is lily. It is the iconic symbol of Louisiana. Even the New Orleans’ Saints adopted the symbol. A Fleur de Lis is a stylized lily brought to America via the French.

My novel, Bayou Born is the first book of the Fleur de Lis series and it’s the name of the antebellum home belonging to Branna Lind’s family. Fleur de Lis is the connection that links the characters in the series. In book two, Bayou Bound, the story is set at Fleur de Lis in fictional Bayou Petite on the banks of the Pearl River. The river is part of the dividing line between Mississippi and Louisiana.

Bayou Petite is estimated to be about fifty miles northeast from New Orleans, and about sixty miles northwest from Biloxi, Mississippi. The closest city to Bayou Petite is Picayune.

How about that for a geography lesson?

Now you may be asking, what’s all that got to do with What’s Write for Me?

I’ve been invited to discuss Bayou Born on Wednesday (tomorrow), April 24th at 3:00 p.m. Eastern. I will be live on the What’s Write for Me blogtalkradio with my host Dellani Oaks. I am one of three authors featured and the program is 90 minutes of fun!

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/rrradio/2013/04/24/rrw-whats-write-for-me

I invite you to join me and learn more of the ‘behind the scenes’ secrets about Bayou Born.

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews, Books, New Orleans, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fleur de Lis & What’s Write for Me

  1. Donald Clements says:

    Love the Fleur de Lis… it’s everthing Louisiana, all in one symbol, for me.

  2. Try looking on-line at Canadian sights, especially any from Quebec and I’m sure you will have no problem finding the Fleur.

  3. Pingback: French lessons in Hammond | DESIGNER DINER

Leave a Reply

