Velda Brotherton: A Legend on an Outlaw: Wilda’s Outlaw

As a consumer, there are a number of factors I consider when making a purchasing decisions. Most often, I read reviews before I buy. Some of the things I’ve researched include dishwashers, kitchen sinks, organic seeds, books, and even authors.

When I first declared myself a writer a few years ago, I sought out other writers. I lived in Kansas City back then. Velda Brotherton’s name was mentioned many times, spoken with awe and reverence. I assumed she was an absent member of the group, but soon learned that she lived down in in Arkansas. I concluded from the buzz about Velda that she was someone to know.

2008_velda-210

I want to demonstrate the impact Velda has on others. To help with my explanation, I turned to Urban Dictionary for the best description:

Legend: totally worth of respect for any reason

That’s how I think of her.

I’m here today to introduce you to her latest book: Wilda’s Outlaw, however, before we launch into that, I offer you reviews about Velda Brotherton:

The day I met Velda Brotherton, I became a serious writer. Her encouragement and example are a constant inspiration. ~ Jan Morrill

Velda Brotherton is a kind person and a prolific author. She has shared her talent and encouraged many new writers in addition to her own work. ~ Mary-Lane Kamberg

Velda is a genuine treasure. She has spent the past three decades unselfishly helping teach so many people the art of writing fiction while honing her own skills. A master at word shaping she can visualize from beginners starts and show them how to shape it into salable fiction. ~ Dusty Richards

There aren’t enough adjectives in the English language to describe the mischievous, wise, sparkling blue-eyed pixie spirit known as Velda Brotherton. ~ Ruth Burkett Weeks

Velda has not only taught me about writing, she’s encouraged me to write and there’s a difference in those two skills. One is a polishing of talent, the other is a shining of the spirit. ~ Pamela Foster

Velda is one of the most knowledgeable, articulate, and helpful people I know. She never pushes but, instead, leads other writers to see her perspective on their work . . . and her perspective is almost always on target. ~ Duke Pennell

From the reviews I pulled these words. They create a theme that is Velda Brotherton: prolific, a master at word-shaping, knowledgeable, encouraging, mischievous, and polisher of talent.

Wilda's Outlaw

Those characteristics translate into good storytelling by Velda in Wilda’s Outlaw.

Here’s the story blurb:

Calder Raines and his outlaw gang may be more than Wilda Duncan bargained for. All she wants is to escape an unwanted marriage, but she finds herself in the arms of a tantalizing man whose warm kisses arouse a storm of forbidden desires.

Calder never wanted to rob banks, but it’s a family tradition. When he embraces the alluring redhead, passion conquers good sense and he imagines a life he cannot have.

Will Calder return her to the man she is to marry before she gets hurt? Can Wilda set things right and prevent Calder’s arrest?

Now to the heart of the matter…please meet Velda Brotherton.

Linda: Thank you for joining us today, Velda. May I start with one of the most daunting questions readers always ask writers? Where did the story idea for this book come from?

Velda: A trip my husband and I took through Kansas researching for another book, Angel’s Gold, took us through Victoria where we were told some of the history of the almost forgotten town. When we came home, my husband, always curious, got on the Internet and researched, then sent me links, which is how we often handle our research. I checked the listing of people who came over from England to settle the town after buying acreages from George Grant, who had bought them from the railroad.
The stories were enticing, and so I began to imagine taking that year-long trip to a country as wild as the west in America. From there I was off and running. I always create my ladies first, then find men who will be equal to their strengths. This is the first of a three-book series, each one featuring one of the three young women who took that trip. I’m now working on the second sister’s story for a book to be titled Rowena’s Lord.

Linda: How long did it take you to write it?

Velda: My books usually take six to eight months to write once the research is completed. I do a lot of rewriting and never outline but let my characters drive the story.

Linda: How did you decide on a look for the cover?

Velda: I told the wonderful designer at The Wild Rose Press that I wanted the West to be prevalent, but I needed a castle somewhere since the English built castles in Victoria and my story would take place in and around the castle owned by Lord Blair Prescott. She did a fabulous job of adding a castle without making the book appear to be an English Victorian story.

Linda: Writers often become friends with their characters. What do you love most about Wilda and Calder?

Velda: I have a tendency to fall in love with the men first. I think that’s necessary to really write their story. Calder I liked because he was torn between being an outlaw like the rest of his family, or being one of the good guys. And he was tender hearted to the point that he made an inefficient outlaw, but he was willing to give it a try. Wilda never whined, though she did get pretty PO’d occasionally. She was up for anything and I adored her fighting spirit. Here was a woman who’d never been out of the orphanage, yet she took to the life in Kansas with a great deal of spirit and stubbornness. And she refused to marry a man she didn’t love.

Linda: Velda, is there some special aspect about writing Wilda’s Outlaw that you would share with us that maybe most folks don’t know?

Velda: I learned some funny things about Victorian clothing, especially the women’s. Queen Victoria brought about totally new styles that were a bit more comfortable than the earlier dress. Still there was layer after layer of crinolines. The pantaloons were two separate legs that were calf-length, but they had no crotch in them. You can see how this made it much easier for women to answer nature’s call with all those layers of skirts. They also did not wear anything that resembled a bra, but just a corset that pushed their breasts up so they spilled from the scooping neckline of their dresses.

Keeping Wilda and the other women properly clothed throughout some of their adventures was challenging but fun. At one point she had to disrobe down to the final layer before Calder’s horse would let her back on him. I’m not naturally funny when I write, but once in a while something funny will happen that I totally didn’t expect. I didn’t plan that scene, it just happened. And the love scenes? Well, writing those comes pretty easy after 59 years of marriage. Yes, I was ten when I got married.

Linda: *chuckles* I think you qualify as a marriage therapist. Thank you, Velda for joining us today.

Velda: Thank you so much for having me and for the beautiful comments you found from my readers and friends. Reading them gave me a good feeling deep inside. There’s nothing so precious as family and friends and I treasure them all.

Have questions for Velda? She’ll be checking in to reply. She’s willing to chat about Wilda’s Outlaw or one of her other books or even writing questions.

Here are the places you will find Velda Brotherton:

Website: http://www.veldabrotherton.com/index.htm
FB http://www.facebook.com/authorveldabrotherton
Linkedin http://www.linkedin.com/in/veldabrotherton
Goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/veldabrotherton
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/veldabrotherton
Blog: http://veldabrotherton.wordpress.com
Writer’s Group: http://www.nwawriters.org

To purchase Wilda’s Outlaw, please go to Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_0_8?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=wilda%27s+outlaw&sprefix=Wilda%27s+%2Cstripbooks%2C311

Happy Reading!

Linda Joyce
http://www.linda-joyce.com

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews, Books, Links, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Velda Brotherton: A Legend on an Outlaw: Wilda’s Outlaw

  1. Jackie Rod says:

    Linda,
    Thanks for the introduction to Velda Brotherton. She sounds like another Haywood Smith of GRW mentoring fame. I enjoyed the interview and hope to meet Velda someday. 🙂

  2. I think Velda Brotherton holds the world’s record for being in the acknowledgments of more books than any other person on the planet. She has helped so many authors. She’s amazing. Never hesitates to guide, school and/or prod when needed. She gives freely of her time and manages to do it with a smile. She truly is an inspiration.

  3. Linda, Thank you for this introduction! I could tell from this warm interview that I would adore Velda! The other day, you mentioned writers conferences as a great way to interact with and learn from other writers. Do you know if Velda is scheduled to be on a panel or speak as a guest at a conference in the near future?

    Thanks for this article!

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Danita,

      I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed meeting Velda. I am not sure of her schedule, however, I think she’ll pop in here and let us know. If I had to guess, I think she might be at OWFI. It’s a great conference in Oklahoma City. It offers so much! Here’s the link: http://www.owfi.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=203&Itemid=237

      And, if you decide to go, consider volunteering. It’s the best way to meet new writing friends!

      Smiles,

      Linda

    • Velda will be speaking at the Oklahoma Writers Federation Inc. (www.owfi.org) conference May 2-4 in Norman, OK.

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Danita,

      Did you see Claire Croxton’s note? Velda will indeed be at the OWFI conference.

      Smiles,

      Linda

    • Danita, Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment. I am indeed scheduled to speak. I will be at Oklahoma Writer’s Federation, Inc. in Oklahoma City the first weekend of May. I’ll speak, read from one of my books in the book room and sign copies of my books at the autograph party. I’m speaking on Exposing Yourself on the Internet. This is a fantastic conference with plenty of editors and agents. In October I’ll speak at Ozark Creative Writers in Eureka Springs, Ar. That’s a great little conference where it’s easy to mingle with guests and writers.

  4. Carolee Laughton says:

    There was a castle on the cover!? I was, um, a little distracted by something else on the cover and had to scroll back and check. Velda is a treasure. She’s warm-hearted, with a good sense of humor. She willingly shares her knowledge and time. I also have learned a lot from her and look forward to reading many more of her books, too.

  5. Marja McGraw says:

    Terrific interview, Velda! I had to laugh at your description of the pantaloons because at one time I owned an antique store and carried some vintage clothing — including a pair of the pantaloons. When a radio station came to do an “on the spot” interview, the interviewer couldn’t get past those. Too funny. This is a book that’s going on my TBR stack.

  6. Thanks for the wonderful interview, ladies. Velda is a gracious and generous writer–a true treasure and a wonderful example for us all.

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Donna,

      Thank you for stopping by and leavinig a note. I hope the “reviews” convey the warmth and vibrancy of Velda and that folks will read her books and discover all of that in her stories, too.

      Smiles,

      Linda

  7. Velda never repeats her interviews. There’s always fresh information, new giggles and themes that inspire…You are a gift, especially to western writers, Velda. Thank you for another glimpse into your work and you, too. See you in Kansas City in Oct. for the Women Writing the West conference? I hope so.
    Arletta

  8. Margo Dill says:

    I have a question for Velda, but I may be late to the party. 🙂 I’m wondering what two or three things she finds the most productive for marketing efforts. I am new to marketing and always trying to learn as much as I can. 🙂

Leave a Reply

