The Next Big Thing is HERE

Hi there! Welcome. Come on in.

I am sending out my gratitude to Renee Regent at http://reneeregent.com for inviting me to be a part of this blog hop. I enjoy her postings and love her prospective on life: She is keenly interested in human nature and believes unconditionally in the power of love.

I hope you’ll stop and check her out. If you’d like to contact Renee, she’s at reneeregent@yahoo.com.

Now for the heart of the blog hop.

I am excited to share more about the release of my debut novel, BAYOU BORN. I’m doing a giveaway for today. Leave me a comment. All names will be tossed into a hat and a winner will be chosen.

The Prize? A Kindle version (or Nook version, which is due out in mid-May) of Bayou Born. (I will need an email address, however, I will not distribute that information to anyone else. It’s solely for sending the book.)

Now, about Bayou Born
perf5.000x8.000.indd

1: What is the working title of your book?

BAYOU BORN, book one of the Fleur de Lis series.

2: Where did the idea come from for the book?

I’d like to say that it birthed itself in one deft swoop, but writing is hard for me and it takes time. This story is an amalgamation of life experiences that I’ve witnessed with a few of my own thrown in.

3. What genre does your book come under?

Contemporary Romance on the sensual side, but not spicy.

4: Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Well… There’s nothing worse to me than a fake southern accent. So, I’d consider any actor who has mastered a true southern accent, or one who was raised with one, like Holly Hunter or Harry Connick, Jr. BTW, I saw Harry, Jr. in the Orpheus parade at Mardi Gras in February. Had a “Laissez les bon temps rouler!” good time.

5: What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

They closed the door on betrayal and broken vows, can they unlock their hearts to love?

6: Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency?

My publisher is The Wild Rose Press.

7: How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

*laughing* The first draft was 140,000 word count of tedious, hard to follow, and too much purple prose that took a year. I call it my learning year. I rewrote the book three times before it got to it’s present story, and then the edits were numerous.

8: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Dorothea Benton-Frank’s contemporary romance books use setting as character, and I treat place the same way in my writing.

9: Who or what inspired you to write this book?

*Chuckles* I think that might be best answered in an interview with Branna Lind. She was a tenacious chatterer and until I got it done – remember it took writing and completely re-writing twice to make her happy – I’m not sure I was so much inspired as I was tortured by her.

10: What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Beyond a heroine’s journey of getting lost to find one’s self and falling in love, the story is very grounded with sense of setting in the south. Also, one of the things that Beta Readers tell me is that they love that I include food in my books. I’m thinking of a cookbook when the first three books of the Fleur de Lis series is completed.

The book is available for sale for the Kindle at: Click here
I hope you’ll enjoy Bayou Born. And I’m inviting you to leave a message for me. You may win a free copy of Bayou Born.

Linda_Joyce_0342

I invite you over to my place at http://www.linda-joyce.com and please join me at Linda Joyce Contemplates where I blog. https://lindajoycecontemplates.wordpress.com
Facebook Author Page https://www.facebook.com/LindaJoyceAuthor
Twitter: @LJWriter https://twitter.com/LJWriter
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6950241.Linda_Joyce
LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=69773158&trk=tab_pro

Now, I want to introduce three writers. Each writes in a different genre than I do. Variety adds spice to life, so I hope you’ll check them out. They will be answering the same questions I’ve answered only about their stories on a Wednesday throughout March.

Please meet romantic suspense and paranormal author, Alicia Dean http://aliciadean.com/alicias-blog/

Author of Urban Fantasy/Paranormal with Romance, M.V. Freeman: http://blameitonthemuse.com/

And Erotica author Kyann Waters: http://www.kyannwaters.com/

Happy Reading,

Linda Joyce

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Next Big Thing is HERE

  1. KyAnn Waters says:

    Congrats on your new release! Loved hearing about your story and your cover is gorgeous?

  2. Lisa burton says:

    Can’t wait to read your book

  3. B. Snow says:

    “The first draft was 140,000 word count of tedious, hard to follow, and too much purple prose that took a year. I call it my learning year. I rewrote the book three times before it got to it’s present story, and then the edits were numerous.”

    My big novel is over 140k, and probably just as full of tedious, hard to follow and purple prose as yours was. 🙂 On one hand, it’s nice to know that you were able to make it into a good story, but OTOH, three re-writes? Gah, just thinking about that makes me want to crawl into bed and never come out.

    Congrats on the release!

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Bee,

      I don’t know if it’s OCD or tenaciousness run amok. 🙂 I’ve been pretty close to Branna Lind for a very long time. She was relentless…

      Thanks for stopping in.

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

  4. Gina says:

    Congratulations on the release of your book. I can’t wait to read Bayou Born and the other books in your Fleur de Lis series. Gina

  5. Jen Nolan says:

    Can’t wait to read your book! Will look foward to getting it on my Nook in May!

  6. Jan Morrill says:

    Whew! I just made it. I can’t wait to read Bayou Born in its entirety. I’ve enjoyed being with you on part of your journey toward publication and I’m so happy for you! If, after midnight tonight, I find I was not a winner, I WILL be downloading to my Kindle. Congratulations!

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Jan,

      You made it. Tomorrow morning, I’m going to write all the names down, toss them in the air and watch them land. THEN, I’m going to let Reni loose and let him choose one…hopefully, I can trade it for a cookie…whenever small paper is on the floor, he thinks it’s his opportunity to bargin. And, if he eats the paper, I’ll be able to figure who the winner is by process of elimination.

      You could be winner.

      Smiles,

      LJ

  7. K. S. Bowers says:

    Congratulations! I was just telling my husband how I felt this past year has been my learning year, (except, I don’t have a novel to release … still learning). I completely understand that statement. Love the cover and can’t wait to read this. 🙂

    • Linda Joyce says:

      K.S.

      I’m still learning, too. When I learn something new, it also shows me something different about myself. I love the journey. 🙂 Thank you for your support.

      Smiles,

      LJ

  8. Linda Joyce says:

    And the Winner of yesterday’s giveaway is….

    Kyann Waters!!! Congratulations!

    Smiles,

    Linda Joyce

Leave a Reply

