The Winners Are…

Cat Lady

The party is over. Until next year.

Cherly Hart, Ginny Lynn, and Lisa Burton are the winners from the Mardi Gras Quiz!
This is my good-bye to Mardi Gras.

I hope you enjoyed the journey with me. To see the moment-by-moment adventure, they’re on my Facebook wall.

Last Night…

Silent cleaners with rakes scrape broken stands of beads into the street. Millions of small plastic bags that once wrapped Mardi Gras beads no longer line the edges of the curb. The semi-sized street cleaner with its swirling under-carriage brushes has washed the street clean by squirting detergent and buffing the asphalt like our grandmothers used buffers to polish their wooden floors. A battalion of “billy-goats” line up elbow-to-elbow and roll down Canal Street, just like the Krewes before them, only the goats erase any remaining hint of any celebration.

The last hint that Carnival lived? The purple, green and gold beads dangling from the ornate metal sign at the hotel where I’m staying.

That, and the photographs taken, and my many memories.

Let the good times roll!

Linda Joyce
http://www.linda-joyce.com

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Mardi Gras, New Orleans, Writer's Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Winners Are…

  1. Donald Clements says:

    Congratulations winners! Great Blog about Carnival!

  2. Jackie Rod says:

    Linda,
    Thanks for taking us with you to Mardi Gras. I bought beads in your honor. The gold, green, and purple beauties are hanging in my kitchen, so I will think about our adventure often. I enjoyed the visuals so much and played my own Jazz favorites here at home to capture the mood. Can’t wait to see you!

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Miss Jackie,

      I had THE best time. Met some really nice folks-they want us to meet them back here next year! And, a woman in the stands asked me about Bayou Born, and between parades, went and downloaded my book. (I was thrilled.)

      What are some of your Jazz favorites?

      And, if you check out my FB wall, I posted pictures there and some videos, too.

      Look forward to seeing you soon!

      Smiles,

      LJ

  3. Ginny Lynn says:

    Thank you and I’m glad you had a Mardi good time.

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Ginny Lynn,

      I know you’d love Mardi Gras! I (hope) think I rocked the outfit- the corset MADE the look!

      And, I’m so glad you are one of the winners of my blog post. I am tickled to send you the Prize!

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

  4. Cheryl Hart says:

    It sounds like you had a fabulous time! 🙂

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Cherly,

      I highly recommend Mardi Gras! I don’t venture down Bourbon Street during Carnival. (Other times, it’s a great place to people watch, but I like to have room for a quick exit-which means, no crowds.)

      Thank you so much for taking the time to visit with me and play the scavenger quiz. I’m so pleased that you are one of the winners!

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

Leave a Reply

