Free Rollin’ Friday

Happy Hands

We’re free rollin’ from Canal to Esplanade and from Rampart to the river…The Mississippi River

~17 Days to Mardi Gras

I’m countin’ down

Here’s the Tour:

Go Blues’n

Tab Benoit singing New Orleans Ladies on the Legendary Rhythm and Blues Cruise, January 2010.

Go Krewe’n

Today there are 3 parades. Tomorrow, nine Krewe’s roll starting on the West Bank at 11:45 a.m., then Slidell, Uptown, with the last one, Krew of Chewbacchus at 8:00 p.m. in Marigny.

On Sunday, six parades can be seen throughout Uptown, Slidell, the French Quarter and Metairie.

Go Food’n

Bayona

Food is synonymous with New Orleans culture. I’ve been in the hole-in-the walls, and I’ve eaten at many famous restaurants. During my next trip, I’m going to Susan Spicer’s Bayona and I can’t wait to taste her food.

Go Art’n

Stevano Velaska

I met Stefano, I think it was in 1988, at the Saturday Flea Market in the French Quarter. I have returned to visit him over the years. I have several of his “works of art” pins and given several as special gifts.

These days, he’s showing his work through the Dutch Alley Artisti’s Co-op.

I have been collecting pins for years. The one in the photo is from my collection. Sterling silver and signed by Stefano.

001

I love to wander the antique stores and art galleries on Royal Street. It’s long gone now, but when I was in college and visiting New Orleans with my new husband, we went into an old tobacco shop. The man was closing his shop forever. We chatted with him…and I was so excited because he had known my grandfather, a retired riverboat captain who died when I was a young child.

Another favorite of mine is the Earrring Lady. I’m going to visit her at the Great Artists’ Collective. I have several pairs of earrings handmade by her, and a Water Meter pin in the picture is an Earring Lady design. I met her in June of 2005, not long before Katrina hit. I am happy she survived the storm and her business continues to thrive.

006

So make plans for a visit to New Orleans. Or better yet, let me know when you’re going and I’ll be your tour guide. It’ll cost you though…hand grenades, Abita and po’boys.

And above all else just remember ~ Laissez les bon temps rouler! Let the good times roll!

Linda Joyce
www.linda-joyce.com

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Food, Mardi Gras, Music, New Orleans and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Free Rollin’ Friday

  1. I love the pin! So pretty!

Leave a Reply

