Feel Good Friday!

Cannatas King Cake

~It’s 24 days to Mardi Gras
Today’s musical selection is different from those of past posts. Take a listen to one of the most distinguishing sounds of New Orleans.

Have you ever heard a calliope?

The foot of Canal Street is where the Natchez docks, the riverboats waits to whisk passengers away for a ride on the Mighty Mississippi. The calliope beckons. It’s the “calling card” of the riverboat. The strains of this music float over the French Quarter on any given day.

(Travis C. Vasconcelos plays the calliope of the New Orleans, LA based Steamer NATCHEZ at Louisville, KY on the 5th of November 2005)

Calliopes, Corsets and King Cake Oh my! Calliope, Corsets and King Cake! Oh ya, darlin’…

Corset in the Making

Finished Corset

Mardi Gras is drawing near and I’m excited to pull my costume together. Miss Ginny Lynn Harrison made me a very special corset. To see the full and final costume, you’ll have to wait until after Mardi Gras, unless of course you’re in New Orleans for Fat Tuesday and my unveiling.

Bourbon Street Sign

Now for a live peek at goings on in the city. There are webcams set up in many spots in the city. Some are to clue drivers about the traffic conditions. Others, like this one, offer a glimpse into famous Bourbon Street.

Bourbon Street http://www.earthcam.com/usa/louisiana/neworleans/bourbonstreet/

The parades start tomorrow.

I know that if you’ve watched the news regarding anything New Orleans, often they speak about neighborhoods like the Ninth Ward and Tremè. This map is a good picture of how the city is divided into neighborhoods.

New Orleans Neighborhoods

So on this Feel Good Friday, do the Mardi Gras Mambo…
And…Laissez les bons temps rouler!

Linda Joyce
www.linda-joyce.com

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Mardi Gras, Music, New Orleans and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Feel Good Friday!

  1. Ginny Lynn says:

    I’m proud to be a part of your celebration.
    Ginny Lynn
    Wench Writer

  2. pamelavmason says:

    I got tingles when you said parades start TOMORROW!!
    Love the corset ‘cha…

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Miss Pamela,

      Krewe de Vieux and Krewe Delusion roll tomorrow night in the French Quarter starting at 6:30 p.m.

      I’m thinkin’ a purple, green and gold parasol would go nice with the corset. And, it has a second benefit. It can be used to help catch throws OR elbow someone out of me way so I don’t drop any throws coming my way…I think I have a ruthless streak coming to light.

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

  3. Jackie Rod says:

    Remember to bring back lots of gold, green and purple Mardi Gras beads. 🙂

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Miss Jackie,

      I will. In fact, I’m going to put together a goodie box with items I collect in NOLA. I’m going to have a drawing for all those who’ve left comments. Someone will WIN the basket.

      And, I’ll check out the art co-op at Dutchman’s Alley and see if I can’t find a perfect little gift for you.

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

  4. Sounds like you’ve got lots of good going on!

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Miss Kellie,

      Thought about you today. First GRW meeting since the M&M…and you weren’t there. Look forward to seeing your smile sometime this year.

      I am feeling very blessed.

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

  5. I hope you post photos! 🙂

  6. bookpeeps says:

    Linda, I love the calliope. I’m not sure where I’ve heard it played… it might have been played in an old movie I’ve watched in the distant past. Looking forward to seeing you in costume! The colors are gorgeous!

  7. Ginny Lynn says:

    I’m so glad that you like your corset. I bet you’ll wow them at NOLA and have a fabulous time.
    Ginny Lynn

Leave a Reply

