Born of the Bayou

Neville Brothers

66 days to Mardi Gras ~

There are many things synonymous with Mardi Gras and New Orleans. Music tops the list for me, and one of my favorite groups is the Neville Brothers.

The Neville Brothers, led by keyboardist Art Neville, joined by his brothers Charles, Aaron and Cyril are an R&B group formed in 1977 in New Orleans, Louisiana. Each brother had an individual musical path before deciding to create a family act.

They have jointly released numerous albums on various labels under the name The Neville Brothers, and have toured the world spreading a spirited and soulfully sound that combines R&B, Reggae, Gospel and Funk. Their music is a “gumbo” deeply rooted in their creole New Orleans heritage. It’s impossible to maintain a bad mood with their music swirling about you. No blue-mood-funk here.

Video from YouTube posted by scofak

Praline Connection

Another thing synonymous with Mardi Gas and New Orleans is food. My husband’s favorite thing to eat: Red beans and rice with andouille sausage and a side order of chicken livers. Our favorite place to eat it: The Praline Connection on Frenchman’s Street.

Their menu of soul food includes items such as BBQ Oysters, Fried Alligator Sausage, Hog’s Head Cheese. Their uniquely Louisiana food items for sale online include Sweet Potato Cookies and of course, Pralines.

johnnys_new_orleans_famous_poboys_chicken_tenders

When in New Orleans there’s every reason to go native and rather than a burger from a national chain, a po’boy is a must. My favorite place for a roast beef po’boy or oyster po’boy is Johnny’s.

Do you have a favorite New Orleans food? What about a favorite band or song? Please share.

Laissez les bons temps rouler!

Linda Joyce
www.linda-joyce.com

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Food, Mardi Gras, Music, New Orleans, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Born of the Bayou

  1. I couldn’t name any one favorite. I must have gained an easy 20 pounds the trip we took there for my birthday YEARS ago. My (now ex) husband and I went with a friend of his who is from New Orleans. We stayed at the friend’s grandmother’s house. She got up one morning and started a pot of red beans and rice that slow cooked and drove us crazy all day. By the time she served it up, my mouth was watering. OMG!!! So good. I haven’t had it since.

    We went to a buffet place out in the swamps somewhere. Don’t remember the name of it but the entire 400 foot spread (exaggerating just a bit of course, but not by much – the buffet sat on two tables that took up two walls of the main dinning room) was chock full of critters that had been caught earlier that week from local ponds, rivers, and such. I had alligator, crawfish, clams, oysters, catfish, and shrimp. I was reluctant to try the frog legs as they still had the flippers attached and all I kept seeing was Kermit the Frog in a wheelchair. Everything else though was so freakin’ good.

    I enjoyed my birthday dinner at Pat O’Briens where of course, on top of the free champagne (the friend’s uncle knew the manager) we toasted with Hurricanes. Don’t remember the food, LOL. Topping off the evening or rather morning, were of course, beignets at Cafe Du Mond.

    Basically, I could happily eat my way around the entire state of Louisiana :-D. You are so making me want to do Mardi Gras this year.

  2. Love po’boys! I had them the first time I went to New Orleans! It was a shrimp one if IRC!

    • Linda Joyce says:

      I love ’em with shrimp, too, though when I can get plump fresh oysters…yum! Do you like your po’boys fully dressed with remoulade sauce?

      Now I’m hungry!

      Thank you for the note.

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

  3. Theresa Hupp says:

    Red beans and rice is one of my favorites! Hold the chicken livers, please.
    Theresa

Leave a Reply

