The NEXT Big Thing – Contract # 2

I am honored that author Betty Bolte invited me to join this blog tour. I had the pleasure of meeting her through an online writing community, and then in person at the October Moonlight and Magnolia conference. Our first stop was the Thirsty Jane cocktail party. However, I digress. As a student of history, Betty brings her studies and passion to her writing. I am honored that she selected me to come to the blog tour party.

The NEXT Big Thing blog tour is designed to offer information about a Work In Progress. I’m happy to share that my editor, Ally Robertson, at The Wild Rose Press, has said a contract for Bayou Born is coming to me. We’ll be working on polishing it to get it ready for publication, so technically, it’s still a work in progress.

Bayou Born is the first book in my Fleur de Lis trilogy. The heroine is Branna Lind. (I blogged about Bayou Bound on September 24, 2012. The heroine in that book is Branna’s cousin, Biloxi Dutrey.)

Ten Interview Questions for the Next Big Thing:

What is your working title of your book? Bayou Born

Where did the idea come from for the book? It’s an amalgamation of love-life issues from women I met during my college years.

What genre does your book fall under? Contemporary Romance

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? Maggie Gyllenhaal

And Chris Pine

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? Branna leaves Fleur de Lis to protect her family from shame and to prove to herself that she’s capable of success without a ready-made job or the safety net of her close-knit family, and she’s definitely not looking for love.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? I am waiting to receive the publishing contract from The Wild Rose Press.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? A long time. Bayou Born was the first novel I ever completed – a full 140,000 words. It was awful. In 2010, I started a rewrite, but got discouraged and went on to other projects. In January of this year, I pulled it out again. I LOVE the characters and the story, so I rewrote the entire book from top to bottom – again!

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? Bayou Bound, which is also under contract with The Wild Rose Press.

Who or what inspired you to write this book? The inspiration came after I moved from Atlanta to a small north Florida town. The change was culture shock, about as much as from moving from Tokyo to New Jersey when I was a young teenager.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? While the story is about the journey of Branna and James, it’s also about Branna coming to terms with her large extended family – four generations that call Fleur de Lis, the family estate, home. If you’re someone who enjoys family drama, Branna’s family won’t disappoint.

I want to thank Betty Bolte for inviting me to this blog party. I hope you’ll stop by and see what she’s got going on.
http://www.bettybolte.com/blog.htm?post=884665

Here’s my list for the Blog Tour. These five will answer the same questions I answered above only they’ll share about their NEXT Big Thing. Please check them out:

Kendall Grey – Life is but a dream…

Ginny Lynn at Laptops and Lingerie

Shannon Grey – Weaving romance and suspense with threads of the paranormal

Alicia McCalla – Fantasy, Futuristic and Paranormal Love Stories in Color

Lindi Peterson – Happy Endings are Just the Beginning!

Happy Reading!

Linda Joyce

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews, Books, Links, Writer's Life, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The NEXT Big Thing – Contract # 2

  1. Maggie says:

    Yay, cograts! And also, thank you for using the word “amalgamate.” My day is automatically better 🙂

  2. Jackie Rod says:

    Thanks for a glimpse of your trilogy–the Fleur de Lis estate located in the Bayou country where fasinating characters abound.

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Jackie,

      YOU know Bayou country, having lived in Louisiana. And yes, I know you know how to spell. 🙂 I have that problem to when my fingers go faster than my brain. 🙂

      As always, Love hearing from you!

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

  3. Jackie Rod says:

    I can spell fascinating -:) 🙂

  4. Ginny Lynn says:

    Ten Interview Questions for the Next Big Thing:
    Okay, I’m answering this based on the book I currently have coming out and not on my current WIP.

    What is your working title of your book? Andromeda

    Where did the idea come from for the book? Can I say that I might have a vampire fetish? Giggle.

    What genre does your book fall under? Urban Fantasy/Paranormal Romance

    Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? Kate Beckinsale, even if she already has her foot in the door with Underworld.

    What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? Andromeda Ortiz is a 400 yr old psychic vampire who has to fight off her maker with the help of her twin brother while she falls in love with the man destined for her bed and his grave because of his love for her.

    Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? Secret Cravings Publishing will release this March 2013 🙂

    How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? I wrote and started editing it all within a year. I was lucky to have had that kind of time, back then.

    What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? Maybe a smidge of the Uber Talented Sherrilyn Kenyon with her Dark Hunter Series.

    Who or what inspired you to write this book? I’ve always had a thing about vampires and I felt compelled to get this story out of my fantasy world and into the “print” world.

    What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? As you read about Andromeda’s life, you fall in love with her twin brother, Perseus, and he’s going to have his own book in the coming years. This story touches on psychic powers, voodoo and my own views of the myths surrounding typical vampires as you get wrapped up in Andromeda’s choice to be with the man of her dreams.

  5. 최다해 gongjumonica says:

    Good luck in this new endeavour! I haven’t tried participating in a blog tour, but it sounds fun!

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Monica,

      Thank you for stopping by and leaving a note. You can start your own blog tour- copy the questions I have listed in mine, answer them in your blog, then invite other bloggers to do the same, with a link back to your blog. 🙂

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

Leave a Reply

