This Girl has NOTHING to Wear

The photo is compliments of Twin Cities.com Pioneer Press

It’s 87 days to Mardi Gras.

What ever shall I wear? I’m taking suggestions and looking for photos for inspiration. I have to begin working on my costume now.

I’m not one of those gals who looks good in cellophane. (My sister told me, a few years back at Guavaween in Tampa, there were several costumes made of just Cling Wrap. That’s right, the clear plastic stuff you use to cover your food.) I want a colorful costume that shows off my strut! However, it must be made of suitable materials.

I’m enlisting you to help me. Costume suggestions? It can’t be too short – I don’t like to be groped. It can’t have a train – that would get stepped on. I wear glasses, so masks are tricky, but a veil might work.

I’m asking for your your participation.

Today’s musical selection for today: Do You know what it Means to miss New Orleans

This song has special meaning to me. While you listen, I’ll share my connection.

This one features Louis Armstrong.

This one features Billie Holiday

My connection to this film and this song.

About ten years ago, Dad called me one Saturday afternoon. “Turn on TNT. There’s a movie you have to see.”

The movie was the re-release of the 1947 United Artist film, Do You Know What It Means to Miss New Orleans. The opening scene is of a riverboat, the General John Newton, rumbling its way to a dock. That riverboat was the one my grandfather piloted. Dad told me about the day that scene was filmed.
The movie, as you can see from the uTube videos, is in black and white. How do you make billowing steam from the stack and have it visible on film – especially on a cloudy day? Dad said they tried several times and failed. Then a friend of Bobby Boy, my grandfather, got an idea. Tires.

Yes, they burned tires instead of wood or coal to make black billowing clouds. Dad also said that the drifting wind carried the stench and it blanked the port of New Orleans.

When my grandfather retired, the General John Newton retired also. Here you can learn about the history of the boat from the University of Minnesota. They purchased it after it’s decommission.

The song: Do You know what it means to miss New Orleans was written by Eddie DeLange.

Please share with my your Mardi Gras experience and if you haven’t had one, you can start in 2013 with a King Cake party and grow your traditions.

Laissez les bons temps rouler!

Linda Joyce
www.linda-joyce.com

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Mardi Gras, Music, New Orleans, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This Girl has NOTHING to Wear

  1. I have been to New Orleans but never to Mardi Gras!

  2. writermaggiemontgomery says:

    How did I miss this? Hope all your plans are working out beautifully and can’t wait to see pictures 🙂

Leave a Reply

