One Lovely Blog Award nomination

I am pleased to announce that today, (I still have about 30 minutes left on the east coast) November 15th , a special day – I Love to Write Day – that blogger Book Peeps nominated me for the One Lovely Blogger Award. I am touched and appreciative of the recognition from a weather-hardy blogger surviving the Sandy experience with a chaser of snow. *Bows to Book Peeps* Thank you for the honor of the nomination.

365 aka Fransi weinstein nominated Book Peeps, therefore, appreciation is offered to Fransi. *Bows to Fransi* Thank you!

The rules of the award require a blog post in which I must include seven bits of information about myself, post the Award in the post, nominate 15 other blogs, and notify their authors.

I’m putting it out there. Here goes:

1) When I was a child, I learned to spell Mississippi by the ditty: M-i- crooked letter- crooked letter-i- crooked letter- crooked letter-i-humpback- humpback- i

2) Sushi is comfort food. In another life, on a two-week business trip to Wisconsin, a colleague thought to make me squeamish with his talk of “wildcat.” Raw beef? Pshaw! I’d been eating raw (fish) for years.

3) Irish-Cajun-Japanese is my ethnic background. After Katrina hit in 2005, a comedian told Oprah that he walked into the New Orleans Superdome (I guess he was there to entertain?) and said, “These are my people!”

I called my sister and asked, “Where are our people? The Irish-Cajun-Japanese ones.”

4) I’m a good cook. I have references. My repertoire includes more than sushi and anything Cajun.

5) My husband says I’m a renaissance woman, which I totally love.

6) I fall stupid-in-love with all dogs. I know the names of all the dogs on my street, but not their owners.

7) It is my deepest desire to write bestselling novels.

Now, as I am a traditionalist about some things, I will follow the rules. For me, there is a gift in each of the blogs listed below. However, the list is by no means comprehensive of places I like to visit.

*Drum roll* Here is my list of nominations for One Lovely Blog Award

bookpeeps A Book Lover with a blog that offers a comfortable place to hang out and chat about life.

fransi weinsten et al Fransi blogs in several spheres, she’s a busy lady. If you’re looking for more than her musings, you might check her out here. She’s woman-extraordinaire in advertising.

K. S. Bowers KS Bowers is a writer of dark fiction, fantasy, some humor, and children’s literature. I just learned she bleeds garnet and gold. Looks like she and will be on opposite sides of the Florida fence since I bleed orange and blue. 🙂 K.S. is a Georgia lady who writes with heart.

thebettermanprojects Evan Sanders is a facinating man on a mission to document and share what he learns each day. It takes courage to write about his journey. It also takes courage to own one’s stuff: the good, the confusing, and the challenging. And, the man likes scotch.

pamelavmason
Pamela V. Mason is a writer who helps writers. She’s a confessed hybrid: a foot in New Orleans and the other in Mobile. That would be Alabama. I hear her dream is to have an RV and travel the country. Pamela honey, we’ve got one: 40′ Montana with 4 slides. If you’ve got the truck to pull it, come check it out. I’m ready to give up my vagabond and settle down.

clairecroxton Claire is a native of Arkansas, though she’s traveled the world. She had the misfortune of being hijacked by a group of writers (me being one) at an OWFI conference. I feel fortuante to call her friend. She can tell it to me straight in a way I can hear it. That’s worth a lot of Alaska gold. Her debut novel came out this year, followed by two others.

Satin Sheet Diva Dana is a “get up and go” kind of gal. She sees what she wants and she’s on the path to get it. I admire her tenacity. She launched Nowata Publishing, a non-traditional publisher for non-traditional authors. Check out her blog and read about her company.

Madison Woods I think of Miss Madison as a muse. She writes speculative Fiction with a surreal and sometimes dark edge. She loves philosophy and mythology, and the entire arcade of archetypes, which I find facinating. (Especially since I think Carl Jung got it right.)

PhotoBotos.com Brothers Tom and Charlie inspire me with their amazing photographs. I don’t use the word amazing loosely. I mean it with utter sincerity. You MUST see their site. They have created an open forum for their HUGE community of friends to discuss photography and travel. Check out their site, then feel free to give me an adjective lesson about how to describe their work.

Coco J. Ginger I visit Coco when I need an infusion of spontaneity. I enjoy her poetry. She makes crazy sane. 🙂

Fresh Ink Daniel Postlethwaite studies study Film & TV Screenwriting with Creative Writing at the University of Central Lancashire. He set up this blog as way to showcase writers works. And, at 21, he thinks he’s come to writing late. I want him to know he is exactly where he’s supposed to be. If he doesn’t believe that, Madison Woods can help set him straight! (with the help of Carl Jung.)

Claire Ady
I enjoy Claire’s book reviews. She is an admitted book-group addict. She loves the ones where food and drink flow along with the words. She’s from Cheadle, Staffordshire, England, lived in Birmingham, England for ten years, Dusseldorf, Germany for two years, New York City, USA for a year, and has been living in Las Vegas since January 2012. She likes it, thank you very much. Roll the dice and take a chance on her site.

Doug Doug is a doctoral student at Stanford University. His blog focuses on exploring the beauty of the creative world and the ways in which ideas become reality. His posts tickle my mental fancy. He’s newly married and I’ll bet he’ll be putting his studies to work in a creative way within the institution of marriage. (I married my sweetheart after my freshman year of college, and am happy to report we are a solid team all these years later.)

Jan Morrill Writes THE RED KIMONO, Jan Morrill’s debut novel, will be published by the University of Arkansas Press in 2013. Her award-winning short stories and memoir essays have been published in the Chicken Soup for the Soul series of books and several anthologies. Recently, she was nominated for the Pushcart Prize for her short story “Xs and Os,” which appeared in the Voices Anthology. She’s currently working on the sequel to THE RED KIMONO.

Theresa Hupp Theresa is a quiet woman, strong in character and dedicated to her writing path. She writes historical fiction and shares her research in her blog, along with tidbits about her family and life. In 2010, when a local literary magazine almost collapsed like a sandcastle being swallowed by the incoming tide, Theresa stepped into help. I was honored to serve with her to keep the magazine going.

To My Nominated 15 – Now it is your turn.

The Rules: One Lovely Blogger Award:

■Thank the blogger who nominated you.
■Tell 7 things about yourself.
■Post the One Lovely Blogger Award picture in your post.
■Nominate 15 other blogs for this award and notify them of their nomination.

Invitation to MY 15: I hope you will take the time in the near future to follow the rules and accept the One Lovely Blogger Award. Let’s unite in our support of one another. Also, my intention was not to plagiarize from your “About” information, but to share with others the beauty of your blog. I hope I have not overstepped or offended in any way. If you are reading this and I haven’t yet notified you, know that the notification is coming…on Nov. 16th.

To Readers– I hope you’ll visit these blogs and let me know about your experience.

Happy Reading and Writing,
Linda Joyce

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Authentic Living, Creativity, Links, Uncategorized, Writer's Life, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to One Lovely Blog Award nomination

  1. kcbobbie says:

    I learn so much about you and your world each time I read one of your postings. You are inspiring me to eventually do my own blog. Thanks so much, Linda.

  2. Theresa Hupp says:

    Thank you, LInda! I will pass on the compliment to other bloggers. I’ve been enjoying your posts on New Orleans. My daughter spent three years (and three Mardi Gras) there, and your descriptions remind me of her experiences.
    Theresa

  3. Thank you Linda 🙂 I am deeply honored that you thought of me. We have something in common. I’m cajun too! I was at work on the river in St. Gabriel (between Baton Rouge and New Orleans) when Katrina hit and got to spend 48 hours on the job…and on the floor sleeping, lol. My last day at work was the day we were able to leave after the storm had finished blowing through. It’ll be a little while before I can fulfill my obligations but I’ll try to get to it next week.

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Madison,

      You are most deserving of the award.

      As for the Cajun part- I’m related to Guidrys and Landrys. Have you read Chef John Folse’s The Encyclopedia of Cajun and Creole Cuisine? It’s a wonderful history book of how Louisiana is a gumbo of cultures. He is of German descent, however, totally Cajun.

      My husband, a few years back for Valentines Day, gave me a trip to NOLA and Donaldsonville, LA. We stayed at Bittersweet Plantation own by Chef Folse and his wife. We had a great time and every meal was a treat.

      Smiles,

      LJ

      • My family first settled in Darrow, which is on the east side of the river from Donaldsonville. I’m of the Templet clan (one of them, anyway, lol).

        I have not read the book, but yes it is a gumbo of cultures. No two families even make something as ubiquitous as gumbo or jambalaya in the same way, either.

      • Linda Joyce says:

        Madison,

        My Friday blogs are about Mardi Gras and NOLA. I’m going to be posting recipes soon. Do you have one you want to share? I LOVE okra poppers. I stuff them with crab meat. Last year on New Years Eve, hubby and I made several gallons of gumbo and put it in the freezer. I’ve had gumbo all year! (But, won’t be making it on New Years Eve this year.)

        LJ

      • Linda Joyce says:

        Madison,

        Do you know much about the sailing ship that Donalsonville bought, then it sunk, not once but twice? I am thinking about using the basis of the info in a story.

        Did you ever meet Alvin Batiste? I have a small painting of his in my TV room: http://www.louisianafolklife.org/LT/Articles_Essays/lfmbatiste.html

      • No, I didn’t know about the ship but it sounds like a very interesting story! And I hadn’t met Batiste either. Such rich culture down there, though, isn’t it?

        I do know that the name of the ship my first stateside ancestor sailed in on was Le Bon Papa and I have the port from where they’d set sail written down somewhere but can’t remember it offhand. They didn’t come down from Acadiana, but sailed in directly from France. One day I’d like to travel over there, but it would help if I knew the language so I could search the church records for names.

      • Linda Joyce says:

        Your connection to history us fascinating. 🙂

  4. K. S. Bowers says:

    Oh no! A gator! Just kidding (but good luck). 😉
    Love that your husband calls you a renaissance woman. Looking forward to meeting one day as I see you’re an awesome cook. 😀

    • Linda Joyce says:

      K.S.,

      We won’t let a little Orange and Blue vs Garnet and Gold stop us from appreciating our common interests. 🙂 In college, I never made it to a UF vs FSU game. We sold our tickets to the highest bidder to buy Christmas presents. We were broke. Barely a quarter to flip.
      How did a GA girl get to be a Nole?
      Hubby is a 5th generation Floridian.

  5. writermaggiemontgomery says:

    Completely unsurprising. Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

