A Celebration of Triumph through Perseverance

A year ago this month, I landed in blog world.

I admit I have been a resistant blogger. Even after a weeklong session about social media taught by Stu Blandford at the Southeastern Writers conference, it took four months for my first post to appear. I pondered about what to write. Even more concerned with, who would read it?

However, I figured it was an opportunity for me to learn something new, so I set my trepidation on the shelf.  

I’m not as linear-thinking as I used to be, however, I decided the best place to start was at the beginning. In this case, a title for the blog. Like a runner getting into position for a race and waiting for the starter pistol, a title became my runner’s block, my pushing-off point, yet, unlike a runner, I had not trained for short sprints. Writing 500 words required a different approach than writing a 90,000-word novel.

The launching of Linda Joyce Contemplates would not have happened but for the patience of author Claire Croxton. She walked me out of frustration and through the basics of WordPress. Thank you, Claire for the generosity of your time and talents.

Once I launched my site, I didn’t take to blogging like a birddog takes to hunting quail – with dedicated focus and natural instincts. (My two birddogs would be embarrassed for me if they knew.) I dabbled shyly behind the scenes afraid to push hard in the final stretch to cross the finish line triumphant each week.

Yet, as time marched forward, I discovered my blog fulfilled a creative outlet.

When it comes to blogging, I love writing about what inspires me in the moment. I look forward to the “search and seize” mission of finding a photograph(s) to accent my blog. I take time to consider the visual layout of each post. Most of all, I enjoy connecting with others, so the interviews I do are a definite favorite of mine.

What’s next? More blogging, and I hope another contract for another novel. I’ve submitted one. I’m also in the editing phase of the contracted book. I have another manuscript waiting for editing and I’m plotting two more novels. However, I make time for blogging each week.

I look forward to the growth and changes in my writing over the next year. I am a perpetual student. As the engraved bracelet my sister gave me reads, “Life is a journey, not the destination.” I’m loving my journey.

I’ve been told when someone is ready, the teacher will appear. Recently, a friend told me to “stay neutral, let go of judgment and be open to the positive possibilities.” I’m already seeing the benefits from practicing her suggestions.

I also want to give credit to Jodi Thomas. She gave me my writing mantra: Triumph comes through Perseverance.

What is ahead is still unwritten. I’m happy to start my second year of blogging. I am seeking more triumph in the days ahead.

Is there something you seek in your life that would bring you triumph if you persevered? I hope you will stop by and leave me a note about your life’s journey.

Smiles,

Linda Joyce
www.linda-joyce.com

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Authentic Living, Creativity, Inspiration, Learning, Life, Writer's Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Celebration of Triumph through Perseverance

  1. I also try to be open to the journey in life. If you follow your heart and dreams, you can end up in some pretty great places, provided you don’t get stuck in such a linear path. Great post, Linda! I wish you all the best on your journey 🙂

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Kellie,

      Thank you for your encouragement. I do work at being open and I’m working on staying neutral. I have to admit that crowds, like at conferences, are sometimes challenging for me. My sense are on overload and it takes me a few days to recover. I was so please to meet you in person. I know we will see each other again.

      Smiles,
      Linda Joyce

  2. Theresa Hupp says:

    Linda, since I started my blog, I see everything as a potential post. The driver who cut me off in traffic. The difficulty of travel. The slow pace of my novel. I have to do a lot of self-editing.

    Congratulations on your one-year anniversary! I enjoy your posts.

    Theresa

Leave a Reply

