What’s Your Word Score on LOVE?

What’s Your Score on LOVE?

Dictionary.com just posted the word for the day on my phone – Incondite.

I’m working on polishing a manuscript and seeking to eliminate incondite prose, so I flip over to the dictionary site on my laptop for a short, yet educational break. Like Yahoo! displays continuous news feeds with a photo, Dictionary.com has articles about topics related to words and a photo, too.

The picture of red lipstick blotted on graph paper caught my eye.

The article is titled, Love Needs Better Words

Since I’m deep into four books right now and two of them are romances – after all, summer is not complete without heroines and heroes, star-crossed lovers, and happy endings – I click on the red lips.

Up pops a word quiz.

You know how I love them!

The quiz is fun. I missed one, darn it! However, now I have a new challenge. I’m going to look to find a novel where that missed word is actually used.

What’s your Love Score? Take the test and see. Also, see if you can guess which word I missed.
PS- The vocabulary here is not just for romance readers. These words appear in many genres.

Click on LOVE to take the test.

Word List:
Lothario
Bijou
Inamorata
Vixen
Hypocorism
Cicisbeo
Paragon
Paramour
Benedict
Cuckold
Osculation
Swain
Cosset

Let me know which word you believe I missed. Let me know how you do.

Smiles,

Linda Joyce

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Authentic Living, Books, Creativity, Links, Romance stories, Writer's Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to What’s Your Word Score on LOVE?

  1. 77% on this one. I need to brush up on my “love” language, lol. This was fun, thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Donald Clements says:

    Ouch! 69% for me… wait, 69 that can’t be right. I freely admit that I rarely encounter these words in my “reading world.” Mayyybe I need to broaden that world, eh? Good exercise. thanks!

  3. Jackie Rod says:

    Darn!! I missed one word, but it probably wasn’t the one you missed. Thanks for the fun quiz. 🙂

  4. Leslie colaco says:

    85 percent!! That was fun… Thanks Linda!

  5. I missed the word “Cicisbeo”. I bet you missed it, too.

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Gina,

      Thank you for taking the quiz and sharing. No one else has asked what word I missed. Cosset was my missed question. Have you ever seen it as a reference in a romance novel?

      Smiles,
      Linda Joyce

Leave a Reply

