Meet Author Alicia Dean

I am thrilled to bring you an interview will Alicia Dean, a multi-published author of six published novels and five published short stories. When I lived in Kansas City and was member of HeRa, Alicia was a member too, only a distance one. We didn’t know each other except by the occasional post on the membership loop. In May, I had the privilege of meeting her at the OWFI conference in Oklahoma. We hit it off right from the start, and I am honored to call her my friend. You can visit her at http://www.aliciadean.com I hope you will enjoy the insights she shares below. AND today, Alicia will be online to answer questions and respond to comments through my blog. She’s standing by, so don’t be shy, join in the dialog!

Alicia Dean writes paranormal and romantic suspense. She lives in Edmond, Oklahoma and is the mother of three grown children. Alicia loves creating spine-chilling stories that keep readers on the edge of their seats. She’s a huge Elvis Presley fan, and loves MLB and the NFL. If you look closely, you’ll see a reference to one or all three in pretty much everything she writes. If she could, she would divide all her time between writing, watching her favorite television shows-such as Dexter, Vampire Diaries, Justified, and True Blood-and reading her favorite authors…Stephen King, Dennis Lehane, Michael Connelly, Lee Child, and Lisa Gardner to name a few.


Her newest release, Soul Seducer, is available for your summer reading pleasure. You can find it at
Amazon

She spent her entire life fighting death. Now she’s falling in love with him. . . .
Audra Grayson became a nurse in order to help save lives. But one night after a brutal beating, she almost loses her own. The near-death experience opens a door between the world of the living and the world beyond. Two Grim Reapers invade her life. One is charming, with the angelic blonde looks of a saint and the black soul of a psychopath. The other is dark, dangerously attractive and, in spite of her distaste for his reaper duties, she finds herself inexplicably drawn to him.

When Audra’s patients begin to die unexpectedly and her loved ones are threatened, she will risk her life—even her soul—to save them. But can she risk her heart to an inhuman being whose very purpose is to take those she is trying to save?

Interview:

LJ: Alicia, what draws you to paranormal romantic suspense over other genres of fiction?
Alicia: I also love suspense, but what draws me to paranormal is the fantastic worlds you can create as an author, and the ability to stretch your creativity to the limits. I love the challenge of staying true to the rules of the world you’ve created so that your story is logical, within an illogical realm. And, did I mention hot guys? I mean, vampires, werewolves, grim reapers? What red-blooded American woman wouldn’t want the opportunity to tame wild men like that?

LJ: How long did it take you to write Soul Seducer?
Alicia: It took me approximately six months to write Soul Seducer, I believe. This is always a difficult question, because my writing process has so many steps, and I often start the next book before I’ve finished the current one. I’m often in revisions on one novel when I begin the next, so I always take breaks to go back and forth between the two. I work full time and I’m also an editor, so the writing process is sometimes a little slow for me, not to mention hard to pin down to a time frame. Of all my books, A Knight Before Christmas is the only one I can say for a certainty how long it took me to write. That’s because I wrote it in two months, and that’s a record I’m sure I’ll never break.

LJ: How many drafts of a novel until your final product?
Alicia: That’s also a tricky question. My books are never really finished. I will make changes every time I go over them until I finally just have to make myself stop. But, basically, it’s four drafts before I consider that I’ve ‘finished’ a story.

LJ: How has your writing practice changed since your first book?
Alicia: I’m more confident and can finish a book more quickly. Not to say I don’t still struggle with each one. I most definitely do, but I can more easily reign in my self-doubt and push through until I reach that sweet spot in the novel where the words seem to flow. (But inevitably, before I type ‘The End,’ I run into obstacles, I struggle again, and there are times when I feel like I’m writing a big pile of crap. The sweet spots don’t come often enough or last nearly long enough)

LJ: Would you share your method or approach for picking your character’s names in Soul Seducer?
Alicia: I would be happy to, but I’m afraid I can’t. I don’t have a method or approach for picking character names in any of my stories. I really just think about the character, picture them, and run names through my mind until something sticks. Sometimes it takes longer than others, but eventually, the characters have a name. The hard part is discarding names of people I know. That limits my choices a great deal, but I don’t want anyone to think my stories are about them. 

LJ: I’ll be looking for the “where’s Waldo” in Soul Seducer. Will you give me and your other reading fans a clue – is there one, two or three references to your personal passions?
Alicia: LOL. Let’s say there are at least three references. Probably closer to half a dozen, but who’s counting? Oh, wait. You are. 

LJ: Have you ever considered writing an Elvis-type character who plays MLB and meets his heroine at a NFL game?
Alicia: Haha. You’re cracking me up. That really hadn’t occurred to me. My first story ever was an Elvis-type character, and I don’t want to repeat the same type of hero. What self-respecting author would steal a hero from a story they wrote when they were eleven? I could, however, see myself writing an MLB player as a hero. Have you seen how many hot baseball players there are out there?

LJ:When you finish a book, how does it feel? Are you elated? Worried? Or some combination of both? Why?
Alicia: Definitely a combination of both. I’m elated in that I feel a sense of accomplishment. I’m excited to see if the book will sell, how it will be received, and I’m also elated that I can now start on my next project. I’m also worried sick, because I know no one will like it.

Quick Notes:
Favorite Elvis song: Can’t pick just one, but “Suspicious Minds” and “Love Me” are at the top of the list, as far as his well-known songs. There are some less popular songs that I love, such as “How the Web was Woven” and “Power of My Love.” Some of my favorites that he did by other artists are “Release Me,” “Bitter they are, Harder they Fall” and “Funny How Time Slips Away.”
Sorry. Hasn’t anyone ever warned you against asking a question like that of an Elvis fan?

Favorite MLB team colors: Red, black and white.

Favorite NFL stadium to watch football: I’ve never been to an NFL stadium but the one I’d love to go to most is Lambeau Field.

What author would you most like to meet: Stephen King.

What paranormal power do you wish to have: I would LOVE to be a Vampire.

I hope you have enjoyed meeting Alicia. She and I are hanging around today to chat, so join in the conversation!

Happy Reading

~Linda Joyce

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews, Books, Links, Mystery Stories, Romantic Suspense, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Meet Author Alicia Dean

  1. Linda Joyce says:

    Alicia,

    One of the questions that folks always ask me about my writing, and I’m going to ask you, is where do you get your ideas? How do you find them or how do they come to you?

  2. Linda Joyce says:

    Also, do you have any plans to head to Elvis Week in Memphis in August? It’s the 35th Anniversary party.

  3. Hi Linda….so happy to be here this fine Saturday morning, especially since I survived yet another Friday the 13th. 🙂

    I get my ideas from within, somehow. Once in a while I’ll hear a news story or see or hear something that triggers an idea, but most of the time, the story lines just pop into my head. It sometimes starts with me knowing the ‘type’ of story I want to write (suspense, gothic, paranormal, short, long, etc) and I start with a nugget of a thought, then I ask myself, What if….? And the story develops from there. Right now, I have about a dozen ideas in my idea folder and new ones continue to come to me. So, I likely have more ideas for books than I’ll ever have time to write.

    I do not plan to go to Memphis in August. For one, Memphis in August makes Hell feel like an igloo in Alaska, and, I’ve never been one to want to join in on the ‘flocking to Graceland’ during the birthday and anniversary of his death time frames. I’d rather go when it’s not so insanely crowded and have a more quiet (although it’s never totally people-free) low key visit.

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Alicia,

      I love “What if…?” It’s a great thing for a group, too. I’ve gotten a few ideas from that type of session.

      As for Memphis, I don’t usually take a sauna in public, which is exactly the reason I, too, don’t go to Memphis in August. Or June, July, or September, unless forced to. But, what about in the spring?

      ~LJ

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Alicia,

      When I write a short story, there’s often a line that I write that I just LOVE. When I work on my novels, there’s often a scene I LOVE. In Soul Seducer, do you have a specific scene that you particularly just LOVE? If so, would you share which one and the reason you love it?

      ~LJ

      • Alicia Dean says:

        I agree, Linda. I do the same thing. There are a few ‘favorite’ scenes in Soul Seducer. Some have to do with my hero, Dimitri, making sacrifices due to his love for the heroine, Audra. If I said more, I’d be revealing ‘spoilers.’ In my book there is a teen grim reaper, Cassie, who I like and readers seem to love. One of my favorite scenes is when Audra meets Cassie and realizes she’s a grim reaper. This is an exchange I liked between them:

        “Don‟t worry. I‟m not going to cause any problems.” Cassie stared sullenly into her glass. “I wanted to talk to you about Dimitri.”
        “What about him?”
        Cassie leaned forward, spreading her hands on the tabletop. Her nails were sparkling purple, the tips painted white.
        Fleetingly, Audra wondered if her nails had been that way when she died, or if there was some kind of reaper nail shop, maybe a full-service beauty salon with the slogan, ‘Just because you’re dead, doesn’t mean you have to look it.’
        “Dimitri‟s good,” Cassie went on, interrupting Audra‟s flight of absurdity. “Trust me. He‟s like . . . a legend in our world.”
        “You must be desperate for legends in the beyond.”

      • Linda Joyce says:

        Alicia,

        Love this!

        When it comes out in print I want an autographed copy for me and I want one for my niece, Julia. (I’ll send you the money for books and postage.) I’m reading Death Notice – LOVE that it’s set in Kansas City. My husband and I had several friends who worked at the KC Star.

        Smiles,
        Linda Joyce

      • Alicia Dean says:

        Thanks, Linda. I’m so glad you’re enjoying Death Notice. I will FOR SURE get you two autographed copies of Soul Seducer. I appreciate your support!

  4. jmsabbagh says:

    Excellent interview .Congratulation .Jalal Michael

  5. Hello. A visit to Memphis sounds like an excellent brainstorming location sometime….

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Kathy,

      We’ll have to get Alicia to take us on an Elvis tour in Memphis. I know where two statues are. We can play “where’s Waldo” with Elvis.

      Smiles,
      Linda Joyce

    • Yes, Kathy! That would be perfect. Brainstorming in the daytime and hanging out on Beale Street at night. That would be fantastic. Let’s do it during the cold months. 🙂

  6. Very nice interview and good to get to know you this way, Alicia!

  7. dmburton72 says:

    Great “seeing” you again, Alicia. I’m reading Soul Seducer right now and am intrigued by the world you’ve built around the Reapers. Have to say this is the first book of its kind I’ve read. Verrry interesting.

  8. Suspicious Minds is one of my favorite Elvis songs, too. I was so sad when I later realized this was about the time he and Priscilla were having difficulties (if my memory is correct).

    Anyway, I’d be interested in knowing how you work on multiple books at once and keep all those intriguing/weird/different characters straight in your head.

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Leah,

      Very good question for Alicia! Multiple books at one time…I’m want to know, too 🙂

      ~LJ

    • Hi Leah, yes, you’re correct. That was about the time he and Priscialla were having trouble. Also, he recorded the song, Separate Ways during that time and often had trouble getting through it. Interesting fact (to me), Elvis re-recorded “You Gave me a Mountain” and in the original lyrics, about a wife leaving him, the words were ‘you took our small baby girl’ and Elvis changed his version to ‘boy’ because it hurt too bad because of Lisa Marie. Anyway…. 🙂

      As far as multiple books and characters at once, I usually only work fully on one manuscript at a time, because it is difficult to be involved with particular characters enough to tell their story well and fully develop them. I often will start another MS while I’m setting aside or revising another, and there have been a few times I’ve had to cross over, but I try to make one MS my main focus at any given time.

      (Don’t you love these unnecessarily overly long answers I give? )

      Thanks for stopping by!

  9. Great interview, Linda. You always ask such fun and unexpected questions. Alicia, of all the paranormal powers, why a vampire?

  10. Alicia Dean says:

    Hi Claire, she does ask the best questions, doesn’t she? A vampire because their senses are heightened, they’re super strong, I’m a fan of darkness and cold, they live forever (unless they happen to encounter a pesky stake to the heart ), and I already enjoy the taste of blood…just kidding about that last one! 🙂

  11. OULUVINCHICK says:

    Hi Alicia! Good to read such a neat interview from you. It surprises me that I have been your sister for 48 yrs & still learn new things about you when you blog. Here is my question….when is Soul Seducer gonna be available in print?? I couldn’t get the nook thing to download on my laptop. I can’t wait to read it. Your writing talent gets better & better & the stories are more & more creative with each book you write. And no….I am NOT partial! 🙂 Love you & so very proud of you!

    • Awww, hi sis. Love you too and thanks so much for popping in! 🙂 I am not certain about Soul Seducer’s print release. Initially, it was to be no more than thirty days, which would have been July 4th, but there’s been a delay. I’m hearing by August 4th now, but not certain. I promise I’ll let you know as soon as I have a definite date.

  12. Maddy says:

    Hello Alicia, great to read about your method and I completely agree about starting something else while something else isn’t finished – when is it ever finished? Good luck to you.

  13. Great interview, ladies! Alicia, I never tire of reading about how your magic happens 🙂

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Anna,

      Do you have a favorite Alicia Dean novel?

      ~Linda Joyce

      • I love everything I’ve ever read by Alicia, so it’s hard to pick just one! Death Notice and Death Offerings are both fantastic, as is Thicker Than Water, her Tales of the Scrimshaw Doll story (which I had the great honor of critiquing in the early stages). Next on my reading list is Soul Seducer, one of the most original story lines I’ve ever heard of. I can’t wait!

    • Thank you for the support, Anna. I’m so happy you keep coming back to listen to me drone on and on. 🙂

  14. Natasha Deen says:

    Great interview–thanks for giving us a peek into your process!

  15. As always a great interview Alicia!

  16. Calisa Rhose says:

    I know- late…again. lol But this was worth reading even late Alicia. Great interview and your Elvis addiction cracks me up. Good luck with Soul Seducer hon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

