Gratitude, plus Coming Attractions!

Thank you for connecting with me. I mean if from the bottom of my heart.

A series of events in my life have coalesced and humbled me. I am reminded that love of family and friends are THE most important things in life. (Reading and writing run a very close second, for me the space between the two is small. If we were talking about font size, it would be an “8” compared to the “12” I write in.)

I am grateful for all the connections with folks, which includes those of you who read and follow my blog. As a writer, I’m always curious about people stories. People like you. My grandmother lived to be 101 and until the day she died, accused me of being nosey. Yet, I find it exciting to learn life stories of others. Others inspire me. As humans, we are resilient in adversity. Given my mother recent diagnosis of a serious illness, I rely on good news about other bouncing back from the biggest challenges in life to remind me – chin up and smile.

I am also reminded of a wise saying: Live for today- it’s all you have.

I’m focused on that as I hear the tick-tock of the clock in my office. It’s loud in the silence that surrounds me. I won the clock in Linda Rohrbough’s class when I attended the inaugural week of The Writer’s Academy at West Texas A & M. (Keep it in mind for next June. I highly recommend the experience and I hope you’ll check out Linda’s website.)

In living for today, I seek to be of service when I am able. Last week, I visited my niece in Tacoma, Washington. My niece has a three-month-old son and a dog, she works part time at a spa in Lakewood, and the Army sent her husband away for a month for training. Auntie to the rescue – at least for a short while. While I know she appreciated the help I provided, including the new Cuisinart pots and pans, Rubbermaid everything, and a lesson how to grocery shop for organics, I received the greatest gift – her love and respect. Every minute shared with her was a joy.

This week, I’m catching up on laundry, bills, emails, and writing. Next week, I travel to Florida to visit my family and offer support to my mother while she endures treatment for her illness. I admire and adore my mother, though through my teen years and early twenties, we battled often. Her love and patience for me got us through the rough patches. Now, it’s my turn to put all she taught me about love, patience, and perseverance to use, as I’ve never had to before.

I hope you will reach out to those you love and let them know you are grateful to have them in your life. A minute can make a difference. If you are comfortable sharing, I’d love to know your story of overcoming adversity.

NOW- for Coming Attractions.

I hope everyone has a fun filled and safe 4th of July. Go Red, White and Blue! I may do a blog post next Wedneday about a 4th of July party when I was in college where the English students pointed out a thing or two about the connection of our histories.

Saturday, July 14th, I’m doing a “live blog” with author ALICIA DEAN. She has a new novel out, Soul Seducer. She’s granted me an interview and will be standing by to take questions and comments. I hope you’ll show her your support and mark this date on your calendar to join us.

 

 

 

 

Wednesday, July 18th, Guest Blogger PHYLLIS ANNE DUNCAN will be blogging about writing a good book review. Book review writing is not just for writers, since there are many more readers out there. I hope you’ll check out her suggestions, and then start a new summer hobby- book reviewing. I promise you, writers love a well-crafted book review.

 

 

 

Wednesday, July 25th – Taking Stock. A look at 2012 goals and some fun games to test your knowledge.

 

 

 

 

Happy Reading!

Linda Joyce

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Authentic Living, Author Interviews, Books, Learning, Links, Romantic Suspense, Soul Work, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Gratitude, plus Coming Attractions!

  1. Jackie Rod says:

    Thanks for sharing your personal journey, Linda. It takes great courage to open up and let us see the extent of your love for family.

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Jackie,

      In general, I am a private person. However, I know there are so many folks who have been where my mother, my family and I am now. I hope to draw on the stories and encouragement others offer to face the future. I know with friends like you, I will manage with a smile.

      Hugs,

      Linda Joyce

  2. janeygoude says:

    Linda,
    Enjoyed reading your post today. Loving thoughts and prayers go out to you and your family. We have been traveling the diagnosis road for our eldest daughter, now 16. God has been faithful in answering prayers by guiding us to the right doctors and giving them wisdom. We are hopeful we have arrived at a diagnosis and a treatment that will bring relief and allow a return to normal adolescence. In the midst of it we have met some precious people and I have received blog post topics! Today – at one of the appointments – our daughter may have found the path she wants to take after high school, at least for a short while.
    My sister-in-law says God loves us in our details and His love for us is detailed. There is no time we see that more greatly than during trials. May you and your family feel God’s detailed love for you during this time.

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Janey,

      I am touched by your words. Thank you.

      I hope your daughter will find the healing she needs. I think that the trials in our life are times for us to rise above and find strength we never knew we possessed. It could be that all your daughter has gone through will maker her greater in this life than she ever dreamed. She is young and has her whole life ahead of her. She is in God’s hands.

      Smiles,
      Linda Joyce

  3. Jan Kelleher says:

    Linda, I’m so pleased that you’re able to help your niece and Mom. Not only able, but willing. People really do appreciate the attention YOU give. I know I certainly do!! I think if we can work out a time in August, I’m just gonna have to take you fishing, Kiddo. You’ve earned a treat and an adventure. I’ll get in touch after this LAST writers’ conference for 2012. I Declare my attention span is about shot… and ALL I wanna do is apply what I’ve learned and WRITE. Love you, Jan

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Jan,

      Thank you for your kind words. I was sad to have missed SWA. I know the feeling- I’m itching to get writing today. It’s right after this! Fishing would be fun! We’ll have to check out the Red Clay conference for this year.
      Smiles,
      Linda Joyce

  4. I always try to be grateful for everything. I make a point of consciously being thankful for everything good I have in my life. Several years go, I was diagnosed with a tumor in my womb. I’ve had depression and anxiety after my children were born. I make sure to take care of myself, and step back from things when I feel overwhelmed. I have good friends I can turn to, and wonderful children and family. Great post, Linda and great reminders! 🙂

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Kellie,

      Your positiveness shows in your interactions with others. Very inspiring. Thank you for sharing your story.
      Over the last few years, especially since moving to ATL, I seek to pay attention to when I am overwhelmed. In the past, I would push ahead. Always the “fixer” of things. That behavior doesn’t work long term.

      Smiles,
      Linda Joyce

Leave a Reply

