SPAM: It’s NOT what’s for dinner

I love blogging. The text is short, sweet, and to the point. Usually around 500 words. I like to hunt for a photo that catches my eye to capture the attention of readers, like you. I love to hear from readers and other writers. I love to search for other blogs, it’s a scavenger hunt of sorts, and at least once a week, I take a few minutes for my quest.

However, I’m not a fan of spam.

About.com defines spam as: unsolicited commercial advertisements distributed online.
aka: Junk
(Although I had to edit their spelling because they posted: Definition: The term spam refers to unsolicated commercial advertisments distributed online.)

Last year when I blogged about taking the Twitter challenge, I had just started experimenting with that social media (more like bumping around in cyberspace trying to figure it out- and I am still lost there.) My blog somehow hit a mother lode of spam. I was getting more spam posts than reader posts; so much so, I deleted that post about the Twitter challenge. Interestingly, the spam trickled to almost nothing. Any bloggers out there have this same experience? What did you do?

To give me a chuckle every now and then, I started saving the spam notes sent to my blog. These are uncut, un-tampered with, unedited replies:

1) you are in point of fact a good webmaster. The site loading pace is amazing. It sort of feels that you’re doing any unique trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterwork. you have performed a excellent activity in this topic!

My reply: I’m not a webmaster, but thank you for elevating me to someone with that type of knowledge. I wish I knew how to do unique tricks, like how to write while getting a massage on the beach in Hawaii.

2) You understand thus considerably when it comes to this matter, made me in my view consider it from so many varied angles. Its like women and men don’t seem to be fascinated until it’s one thing to accomplish with Lady gaga! Your own stuffs nice. All the time handle it up!

My reply: I don’t even know how to reply to this message.

3) of course like your web site however you need to take a look at the spelling on several of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling issues and I to find it very bothersome to tell the reality then again I will certainly come back again.

My reply: Help me, help you. Give me a clue? Which reality are we talking about?

4) hey, sup? how are you today, I like you, do you like me?

My reply: The Tao of ‘yes’ is: Maybe, or Maybe not.

5) This is a great website!!! I like your website very much and I’ll subscripe to it if you post more articles like this! Do you like XXX take a look on my profile!

My reply: I don’t know about XXX. What I do know is that many Cajuns have an “x” at the end of their name, such as Boudreaux, Robicheaux and Thibodeaux. There is a debate about the “x” with some claiming it originated when folks couldn’t write and put an “x” by their name.
I recently read where one historian suggests that the “-eaux” ending was done to standardize Cajun surnames ending in an “o” sound.

All I can say is Spam – be it cyberspace junk or from a can – by any definition is not for me.

What about you?

Happy Reading!
Linda Joyce

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Authentic Living, Books, Creativity, Learning, Links, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to SPAM: It’s NOT what’s for dinner

  1. Jackie Rod says:

    Great post today, Linda. Spam and nuts trying to hack into my computer drive ATT, Kaspersky, iYogi, and me crazy. It seems the more sites we have on social media, the more vulnerable we become. I agree with you–Spam is not for me; however, it is better than being hacked!

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Jackie,

      Yes, you are right. Better spam than hacked any day!
      I did work with a woman who lived in Seattle. She loved Spam Sushi. I never tried it. The idea of a Spam animal makes me want to go vegetarian.

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

  2. But Linda, reality is thus, rife with spelling errors or not, Cajuns like crawfish. Do you like me? Yes or no?

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Claire,

      lol – Adore you, girl friend. No one cuts through to the heart of the matter with laughter better than you! Mudbugs and Abita beer for dinner here. Come on over…if you like me…Yes or No?
      Smiles,
      Linda Joyce

  3. Janey says:

    I saw these same type of comments on another website I was reading. I can’t remember the topic of the post, but I don’t think it was on twitter or social media. All I can say is, I wish I had that much extra time on my hands!

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Janey,

      I guess if each click someone makes gets the spammers a penny, the pennies do add up. For some of these, I’m guessing the person writing the reply is either foreign (or maybe an alien? lol)
      Hope you’re doing well.

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

      • Janey says:

        How would the clicks translate into pennies?

      • Linda Joyce says:

        Janey,

        I don’t have all the specific details, however, a friend of mine in Lawrence, Kansas knows all about it. He has a company that does internet marketing. I think that if you have a site and you allow companies to advertise, then when someone goes to your site and clicks through to an advertisement, the advertiser pays you. If you want more details, I can connect you with my friend.

        Linda Joyce

      • janeygoude says:

        Thanks for the info and offer to connect. I don’t have my own site right now, so I’ll take a rain check. Plus I’m over my eyeballs in projects 🙂

  4. Donald Clements says:

    They’ll do anything to get you to click through to their sites… then the malware installs begin… By the way, I would be happy to help you learn how to write while receiving a massage on the beach in Hawaii!

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Donald,

      How about just taking me to Hawaii?

      Smiles,
      Linda Joyce

    • Linda Joyce says:

      The Spam-hammer hit again!

      Spot up for this write-up, I seriously believe this web site needs a whole lot a lot more consideration. I’ll apt to be once a lot more to learn additional, appreciate your that information

      Have no clue what this even means!
      Linda Joyce

  5. Jane Kurtz says:

    Thanks for a great laugh, especially after spending 15 minutes explaining to my bank that I did NOT purchase over $5K worth of stuff at SHOPKO. SHOPKO????!!!! Really?! As my teen would say, “the Intraweb is magically delicious!” Indeed, XXX

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Jane,

      Oh my! That’s a big purchase. You convinced them, right?
      I once got a call from a computer/gaget store in NYC. A woman, clearly Japanese from her name, asked me if I had purchased stuff to send to Japan. She asked if I even knew anyone in Japan. Of course, I had not made a purchase on my AMEX, however, I denied knowing anyone in Japan. Geez, my Japanese relatives send me the latest stuff, no need for me to buy them gagets on the verge of extinction. lol.

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

Leave a Reply

