Author Kathy L. Wheeler turns it up!

Greetings! Good news is making waves and rippling across Reading Land. I’m happy to share with you news about a wonderful writer, Kathy L. Wheeler. She’s having a great year:

The Wild Rose PressThe Color of Betrayal – June 13, 2012
Soul Mate PublishingQuotable – 2012 date to be determined
Soul Mate Publishing Maybe It’s You – 2012 date to be determined

currently available on amazon.com:
The Wronged Princess – Book I
The Unlikely Heiress – Book II – May 25,2012
The Surprising Enchantress – Book III – July 1, 2012

I hope you will enjoy getting to know this woman with a smile as wide as Texas and with a heart that’s even bigger.

Please meet Kathy:

Linda Joyce: What’s your definition of ‘Romance’?

Kathy: My definition of Romance is a happy ending. I know that the literary critics (and my own daughter) prefer stuff that makes you think. But does that mean its required to be depressing? Ha! Not in my book. And that hero? He’s going admit loving her first in every story I write!

LJ: What reference books do you use and why?

Kathy: The absolute book every romance writer should have is The Romance Writers’ Phrase Book, by Candace Shelton and Jena Salter Kent. It helps you deepen your characters emotions and point of view. Eventually, you won’t need it, but sometimes just picking it up will jump-start the words off the page.

LJ: Do you think contests are worth the money and why?

Kathy: I don’t do well in contests. That being said, I think they are helpful to learn your strengths and weaknesses. In addition to learning your strengths and weaknesses, you (usually) receive some kind of feedback. And feedback, good or bad, is helpful.

LJ: What philosophy/approach do you have about critiquing? Honesty. If someone asks your opinion, then give it. That doesn’t mean you have to be mean. But how can critique be helpful if it’s not an honest assessment. When I critique, I point out the things that I would hope someone would point out in my own work. And if you can’t take the criticism, then don’t put it out there. And most importantly, remembering to tell the person you are helping, these are my suggestions. Because, inevitably, everyone’s voice is different, which makes all opinions subjective.

LJ: What was the first Romance story you ever fell in love with?

Kathy: I was a homebody, introvert in high school. For those of you who know me, may not believe that, but it’s true. So I was all over Harlequin in the 70s to the point I never dated or went out. Eventually, I quit reading for years. Then, of course, I picked up Amanda Quick…aka Jayne Ann Krentz….aka Jayne Castle. Then I moved to the Chicago Star Series by Susan Elizabeth Phillips…and then….

LJ: What type of things do you do to hone your craft?

Kathy: It’s changed over the years. I started out attending conference workshops, migrated to critique groups, finally to editing others’ works. The most important thing any writer can do is WRITE! That’s where it starts and ends.

LJ: Words of advice for new writers?

Kathy: I believe I just said it, but I’ll reiterate by copying and pasting… The most important thing any writer can do is WRITE! That’s where it starts and ends.

Places to catch up with Kathy? Her websites:

www.klwheeler.com
www.kae-elle-wheeler.com

And her blog:
http://smpauthors.wordpress.com/category/catching-up-with-kathy/


Available June 13th, so mark your calendars!

For all the readers, nows the change to add Kathy’s books to your summer reading list. Check back and let us know which one of Kathy’s books you like best.

For all the writers, as Kathy said, “Keep writing!”

~Linda Joyce

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews, Books, Creativity, Links, Romance stories, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Author Kathy L. Wheeler turns it up!

  1. Thank you, Linda, for featuring me. This year will be exciting for sure. As of today there is a release date for Quotable: June 6th.

  2. Anna says:

    Well said, Linda. Great advice. And Kathy, thanks for asking all the right questions!

  3. Great blog post, Kathy. Sage advice for writers, too. So excited for you! Best of luck and huge congratulations!

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Alicia Dean,

      Thanks for visiting today. Maybe I could convince you to do an interview, too?

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

      • I would be delighted to do an interview, Linda. Have your people call my people and we’ll set something up. 🙂 Just kidding! Let me know your schedule and what’s available and we’ll work out a date. Thanks!

      • Linda Joyce says:

        Alice,

        lol – My people are the four-legged types and offer only a “wolf” or “arf” as critique. I’d be so delighted to interview you. More to come on that very soon!
        Smiles,
        Linda Joyce

  4. jess says:

    Good interview. I’m a little squeamish about contests AND critiques. The wrong person/critique/score can make me doubt myself and not write a word for months. I do better if I finish the book and then choose beta readers wisely. 🙂 I do like winning contests–but that doesn’t happen very often. Sorry ladies, I never grew thick skin and at my age, it’s a little too late to do so.

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Jess,

      You bring up an excellent point. Just how does one go about growing a thicker skin? I was contemplating that earlier today. You seemed to have resolved the issue for you. I applaud you for knowing what’s best for you and stikcing with it.

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

  5. Great interview, Kathy!! (and great pic too, LOL). I am in complete agreement with your critique philosophy…

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Amanda,

      Doesn’t Kathy come across totally as herself? When you read interviews, what kinds of things do you like to know about writers?

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

  6. Liz Fielding says:

    I’m a huge fan of Susan Elizabeth Phillips, too, Linda. She’s one of those authors I re-read when I need a lift. Loved your interview.

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Liz,

      Thank you for visiting. Do you have a favorite Susan Elizabeth Phillips book? What kinds of things do you want to know about authors from interviews?

      Smiles,

  7. dianalayne says:

    This is a great year you’re having! Continued success to you!

  8. Jackie Rod says:

    Thanks for the great interview, Linda & Kathy. I applaud you for enlightening us on the life of a writer. 🙂

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Jackie,

      Thank you for visiting today. You and Kathy have a great trait in common. You both are optimistic women pursuing your passion!

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

  9. Hi Kathy (she waves frantically), and nice to meet you, Linda Joyce. Great interview, ladies. Kathy, enjoy your wonderful year, I’m sure next year will be ever greater. Can’t wait for the release of Quotable.

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Callie,

      Thank you for visiting with us and the encouraging words for Kathy. She’s got big shoes to fill for next year – her own. 🙂

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

  10. Two of my favorite people blogging together! I’m in heaven! Great questions, Linda. Great answers, Kathy. I agree with your assessment of critiques and contests. It’s important to give a person gentle, honest feedback. If the person doesn’t want to hear it, then they shouldn’t be asking your opinion. As for contests. . . I’m sure I’d like them more if I ever won one! Ha! Kathy, you’ve got a great year ahead of you. I’m so thrilled for you!

  11. Reblogged this on Claire Croxton Romance Author and commented:
    A Jodi Pioneer blazing the trail of success!!

  12. janninegallant says:

    Congrats on all your books! I liked your comments on critiques. You shouldn’t ask for an opinion if you only want positive feedback. While it boosts your ego, it doesn’t improve your writing.

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Jannine,

      You said it, girl. We like those ego boosts, however, a WIP needs a good critical eye to polish the work to a publishable state. Thank you for visiting and showing support for Miss Kathy.

      Smiles,
      Linda Joyce

  13. Natasha Deen says:

    Well said–to be a writer is to write! Congratulations on all the releases and happy writing trails!

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Natasha,

      I think “To be a writer is to write” is a universal truth. We can dress it up and make excuses, let others distract us, but at the end of the day, a writer must write.
      Thanks for showing your support to Miss Kathy.

      Smiles,
      Linda Joyce

  14. Goodness, I was soooo busy yesterday. I take one quick-see today and am blown away by everyone’s terrific comments. I truly am surrounded and blessed by my writing community. Thank you all so much.

Leave a Reply

