A Helping Hand, please

Spring break is here.

Oh, you’re not linked to the school schedule that sends children, regardless of their age, laughing, running, and shouting with glee away from the hallowed halls of education? Well then, instead of using spring break as a reminding measuring stick that a quarter of 2012 is almost gone, think in terms of March Madness, vernal equinox and pollen so thick it’s pollution as THE time when you reflect on your 2012 accomplishments, unmet goals and upcoming opportunities:

Conferences
Workshops
Retreats
and I’m going to throw in submissions.

Are you tracking with the goals you set in January?
Are you exploring learning opportunities – conferences, workshops and retreat?
Are you networking with other writers?
Are you looking for places to submit your work?

If you’re not exactly following that white line in the middle of the road, then now might be a good time to adjust your writing clock just like you did when Day Light Savings Time started and check out these links to rudder yourself back on course.

NEWpages.com

The Guide to Writers Conferences & Workshop

Writer’s Relief

Writer’s Academy

Southeastern Writers Association

OWFI

And, please share information links about conferences, workshops, retreats and places to submit with all of us. As writers, we might create our work in solitary; however, it does take a village to make a writer successful.

I’ll be waiting to check out the links you share.

Happy Writing,
Linda Joyce

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Authentic Living, Creativity, Learning, Links, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Helping Hand, please

  1. Linda, having just returned from visiting you and having had the opportunity to hear and critique each others work, I am renewed. I’ve discovered I need several “boosts” a year to keep me feeling energized and capable about my fiction writing. NF writing (like the sermons I deliver most Sundays) get immediate feedback. I can see the faces of my listeners and know that they are connecting with my ideas and the meet-and-greet line at the exit gives me a string of positive comments. Writing fiction is a lonely job. I’m blessed to have a writing friend like you!!
    Enjoy the rest of spring break,
    Romney

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Romney,

      Wasn’t critiquing with other fiction writers, who happen to be accomplished screen writers, too, the MOST fun! When I get over being awed by them everytime, I learn new things, too.

      Smiles,
      LJ

  2. Jackie Rod says:

    Thanks for the reminder to check our goal timelines to see how much progress we’ve made. You’re the girl, Linda!

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Jackie,

      I so appreciate your kind and wonderful encouragement. Honestly, I’m not doing too well with my first quarter goals, however, I have readjusted and starting Monday, have new goal dates for now until June. Time is flying fast. See you in April?

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

  3. The first ever conference I attended was the 2011 Ozark Creative Writer’s Conference (http://www.ozarkcreativewriters.org), and I plan on returning this year as well! They’re already getting information up on their website, as well as some early contests their running. And of course, I’m looking forward to the OWFI conference (and thanks so much for letting me know about the scholarship option in an email way back when – I was able to get one :D).

    Otherwise, the only other thing I can think of right off-hand is the Nimrod Literary Awards (http://nimrod.utulsa.edu/awards.html), and contest submissions for that are due at the end of April.

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Rebekah,

      Thank you for the link for the Ozark Creative Writer’s Conference. I’m adding it to my list. I look forward to meeting you at OWFI. We’ll have to plan for coffee or maybe lunch. (I am thrilled you followed up on the scholarship- you’re a dedicated writer and I know you’ll enjoy OWFI)

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

Leave a Reply

