How are You Connected?

A culmination of events brings me to my posting today about connections, and I wish I could get the friendship song I learned in Girl Scouts out of my head. It’s a great sing-songy tune, but just not when it’s on constant play:

Make new friends, but keep the old. One is silver and the other gold.

So, know that’s the background music for this post.

Last Saturday, I attended a Georgia Writers Association seminar where Lisa M. Russell discussed Bonding, Branding, and Building: Connecting in an Authentic Way. I really appreciated her comments about authentic connections, about how social media is not a non-stop flashing billboard to sell folks stuff.

At the seminar, I sat with Leslie, a woman and business owner I met through a critique group I discovered on Meetups – the world’s largest network of local groups. Across the isle at the seminar, Lisa waved at me. I met Lisa through an Atlanta Writer’s Club critique group. Afterward, we chatted and exchanged blog addresses. Then, as a result of my blog post from last week, I met a friend-of-a-friend, Janey. We shared a great email exchange and even shared submissions for a short story contest, critiquing each other’s work. Janey is a freelance writer growing into a fiction writer.

I love connecting with folks, and not just writers. Today, I’m going to see my chiropractor. My personal trainer has the appointment after me. I introduced my trainer to my doctor.

To continue that thread of connection, on Sunday, a friend of mine is arriving in Atlanta from Tulsa, Oklahoma. Many, many years ago, she and I lived in the same neighborhood in Orlando, Florida, but we didn’t know each other then. Fast forward to 2009. We lived in the same dorm across the hall from each other when we attended Jodi Thomas’ Writer’s Academy at West Texas A&M. Romney and I have been good friends ever since.

Now, at that very same Writer’s Academy, I met Jan Morrill who lives in Fayetteville, AR. She’s friends with Maria, who lives about fives miles from me in another Atlanta suburb. Maria and I met over breakfast and occasionally get together. I think next week, when Romney is here, Maria is going to yoga with us. Then Romney, who is friends with Jan, too, will also know Maria. They’ll all get to meet Lisa, my trainer; she’s also my yoga teacher at Core Bodyworks.

My final example of connections in my writing world: I joined Georgia Romance Writers. Our current president is Anna. I put out a call within the GRW for a critique group, but nothing materialized, so I found an online chapter – Romance Writers of AmericaWomen’s Fiction. There I connected with two writers of women’s fiction and we started a critique group: The Cross-Country Trio. (We have since added a fourth person. The group name still sounds like a country western band, however, Cross-Country Quartet just doesn’t have the same ring…) Therefore, fate being what it is (I don’t really believe in coincidence.) one of the group members, Jane, lives in the Kansas City area (where I moved from a year ago and our paths never crossed) and she is the sister of Anna, GRW’s president.

I have many more connections I could share. But what about you? What are your connection stories?

Smiles,

Linda Joyce

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Authentic Living, Creativity, Learning, Links, Romance stories, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to How are You Connected?

  1. Linda Apple says:

    Makes me thing of my new favorite television show TOUCH.

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Miss Linda,

      TOUCH? When? What station? I’ll have to check it out. AND, when I was writing this, I thought about how I met you: OWFI in 2010. Then, as it turns out, we were suite mates in the new fabulous dorms at West Texas A&M at the Writer’s Academy. Love the connections.
      AND, I’m hoping to hear about the writing intensive- hope we can spend some time together then. 🙂

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

  2. Linda Apple says:

    uh, that would be “think” of my new favorite television show. 🙂 Long day. Need an adult beverage.

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Miss Linda,

      I knew (as everyone else would, too) what you meant. As for the adult beverage: I’ll mix, what’s your pleasure? Or, I’ll buy you one when I see you in May.

      Smiles,

      Linda

  3. Jackie Rod says:

    What an amazing maze of friends, Linda! I almost got dizzy connecting the dots (friends), but what a fabulous example of media networking. You go, girl. I’m proud of your tenacity.:)

  4. annasteffl says:

    I’m so glad you’re a part of GRW, Linda. I’m looking forward to getting to know you better!

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Anna,

      And, I’m looking forward to getting to know you better as well! Also, I’ll say up front, thank you. Thank you for being willing to take on the President’s role at GRW. Leadership is a blessing and … less than a blessing, sometimes. Will all the change I’ve been through since my move to Georgia, I’m very thankful to have the benefits of a chapter like GRW.

      Smiles,
      Linda Joyce

  5. janmorrill says:

    I tried to post a comment on my iPad last night and couldn’t ever get it to accept my comment. What an interesting post, Linda! I need to go through and connect my dots. I’m glad you and Maria have become friends. One day, I hope to come to Atlanta so we can all get together!

  6. pamelavmason says:

    How amazing!
    I think you one who is open to making and reviving connections, old and new. I’m so happy to be acquainted with you through GRW.
    Now I’m off to check out some of your writers’ links here!

Leave a Reply

