Left Brain? Right Brain? Make an Apple Pie!

Does apple pie really have anything to do with whether or not someone is left-brain or right-brain dominate? I think so, and I’ll lay out premise for you to decide; however, you’ll actually have to do some work to prove me wrong. Either way, I hope you’ll share your results.

Learning styles and brain dominance is a science. Frankly, when doing more research for this topic, reading very clinical papers made my head hurt. In simple terms that I am able to convey – the difference in the power of the left and right brain has to do with how we process information.

All of us have two sides to our brain. The left side takes in information in a logical and sequential order and houses our language skills. For intuitive and random information processing, the right side steps up. If we process with only one side of our brain, we can get lost in the world. Have you ever sat with a group of techy folks and not understood what they said, not even sure they were speaking English? Or in my husbands case, it’s the other way around. He doesn’t need all of my airy-fairy description to understand the reason why a dress doesn’t work for me. To him, my dress buying decision only requires the ‘yes or no’ method. Husband and I process information and make decision using different sides of our brains.

So, battle lines are drawn between the left and the right…I’m still talking about the brain here. The dominate side of our brain is often the side we rely on when learning new things. However, to get the most out of life, having a balance between our brains allows us to broaden our learning, thus life experience.

This is where the apple pie comes in. Baking is said to be an art. How the pie looks, with a braided or scalloped edge, enhances the visual appeal of the pie. It’s said that we eat first with our eyes…and when the pie is pulled from the oven all golden brown and steaming with aromas of apples and cinnamon. Yum!

However, to get to that final mouth-watering experience, we start with the left brain – logical and sequential ordering. Baking, more so than other cooking, requires precision measuring of each ingredient. Too much flour or too much fat and the crust isn’t flakey. Too much brown sugar and cinnamon masks the flavor of the apples. Accurate handling of the ingredients is needed to have a tummy-satisfying experience once our eyes signal to our stomach to take a bite of pie.

The point of all of this: To be the best you, no matter what you do: writer, poet, artist, dance, mechanic, computer tech, doctor, physicist, learning to strengthen the less dominate side of your brain will enable you to have a fuller life experience. However, before undertaking a cure to have whole brain usage, you have to know which you are – Left or Right Brain Dominate.

To drive this idea of needing balance home to my writer friends, author Bobbie Smith once told me how much she valued her business degree. It helped her understand the business side of publishing and make good decisions about her career. She uses both sides of her brain as a writer, since being a successful writer goes beyond just writing a good story. This same concept is applicable to any profession.

For those of you who don’t have time to bake a pie, I’m including two websites for you to take a quiz to determine your dominance. The Left Brain Right Brain Quiz will give you a score that measures each brain-side use, showing what’s higher and lower. The second one is Left Brain Right Brain Quiz for Teens. Even though you may be past your adolescence, I think you may find the paragraph the website provides about you very insightful.

Oh, and I’ll sample any apple pie made.

Enjoy!

Linda Joyce

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Authentic Living, Creativity, Learning, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Left Brain? Right Brain? Make an Apple Pie!

  1. donnamariev says:

    interesting. I’m about 50/50.
    Donna v.

  2. Oh, big shocker here, I’m right-brained. I love the questions about wanting to be a poet or an attorney. As for the apple pie, next time you’re in my neck of the woods, I’ll bake you one.

    Good post!

  3. Reblogged this on Claire Croxton Romance Author and commented:
    Are you left or right brained? Linda Joyce has a fun post on this topic.

  4. Lorraine says:

    Hey Linda, my first college class had this same discussion and she even had us write with the opposite hand and you could feel the brain activity! you’ll have to try it! I just took the test and was LB – 8 and RB – 12 . . . and I guess that’s no secret! I’m sure any left brained activities have been learned from my 29 years with Glenn!

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Lorraine,

      Hi! Love that you visited with me here. I will try writing with the other hand…though I write so seldom these days, keyboards as a different animal. Try the Teen test…it gives you a paragraph of feedback about yourself based upon your answers. It was spot on for me!
      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

  5. Judy says:

    Excellent. There is a lot to this left brain right brain thing. I am definitely right brain- creative. Hubby is left brain-logical. our son is farther right brained than I am and our daughter is a middle of the road over achiever. The hard part in all this is realizing that you DO have to work your weakest link. Great post in fact I reposted it on my dreamin’ blog. Thank you Linda

  6. Madison Woods says:

    I’m 11/9 left brained. I love quizzes like that.

    So your blog looks clean and I like it. Was there something in particular you wanted to know about it? It’s hard for me to help without actually being with you, but I can try. I’d never make a good phone support tech, LOL.

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Madison,

      Left brain people are successfully creative, too! Did you try the Teen one? That one is interestingly insightful.

      I started another blog- more like a shadow blog – so I can play around with changes there and mess that one up, use it as a learning tool. Will I see you at OWFI? If so, maybe we can go over some of my issues there? Thank you for your generosity.

      ~Linda Joyce

  7. Janey Goude says:

    Linda Joyce,
    Fun and insightful post!
    My results: LB 11 and RB 8. The teen test had me left brain dominant. The paragraph was mostly accurate, but a few things weren’t me. I had to laugh at “…you are able to answer questions quickly.” Decision-making is painful. After four decades, I finally figured out that is why I hate seasonal closet cleaning – it is micro decision-making on a titanic scale!
    Thanks for a post of smiles!

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Janey,

      The secret to avoiding season closet cleaning- get a bigger closet! lol… I keep looking at mine and thinking, “I need to clean this up.” Even bought bins to fit on the high shelves, but alas, as long as I can close the closet door, I’m good.

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

  8. Linda Apple says:

    I knew I was “right brain” dominate but I took the test for fun. Actually I was 7 left brain 14 right brain. I teach personality profiles, and I’m a Wind which is always right-brain. 🙂 We just blow all over the place having fun and flying high. Love the new look btw!

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Miss Apple,

      I need to get your book about personality profiles. Will you have it at OWFI? I want an autographed hardcopy. Have you found that people do change? And if so, what sorts of things produce the change? Illness maybe? You’ve got me thinking now…
      Glad you like the new look. Appreciate you comments.

      Smiles,
      Linda Joyce

      • Linda Apple says:

        I have a version of the element personalities in my Connect book. As for change, I believe if we look at how we were as children, that is our core element. But life does force us to adapt, not necessarily change. I believe we have all the elements, but a couple are dominate. However, the others are there when we need them and we develop them by use. My husband for instance, he is earth, but the corporate world has brought out the fire in him to survive. When he retires, he will cool down and be my “earth man” again. When I was a young woman, I was WIND in a big way. But I’ve learned to temper the careless behavior with my water side. Now I’m more likely to flow and reflect than blowing and going!

      • Linda Joyce says:

        Linda,

        Yes, that’s the book I want to get. Thank you for sharing your insights and wisdom.

        Smiles,

        Linda Joyce

  9. Nita says:

    Love the post. No wonder I’m so confused, my score was 50/50. Apparently I sometimes go linear, but then will veer off in another direction. 🙂

  10. Becky Povich says:

    Linda Joyce, I just took the test and I’m exactly 50/50! That was fun! 🙂

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Becky,

      Wonderful! Did you try the Teen one, too? I liked that one because it provides a narrative paragraph of info. Glad you enjoyed it. I love these kinds of little quizzes, too.
      Smiles,
      Linda Joyce

  11. Becky Povich says:

    P.S. I also do love to make apple pie! I’ll be happy to make one for you!

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Becky,

      On the PS – you’re the first one to offer me PIE! And, apple is my very favorite, however, maybe you need to come to my house and make pie with me…that way you can see what happens when someone if right brain dominate and tries to bake. 🙂

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

  12. Becky Povich says:

    Hi Linda! No, I didn’t take the Teen Test……I might go back and try it, too….sometime. And I’d be happy to come over to your house and make an apple pie with you!! Do you live anywhere near St. Louis??!! 🙂

  13. Becky Povich says:

    Too funny! I’ve been attending the MWG conferences about every other year, and I went last year. Still not sure about this year, although I can’t believe it’s in just a few short weeks. BUT, I have family in the Atlanta area (AND blog friends), so sometime when I’m there…..Apple Pie Time! 🙂

  14. Karen La Rue says:

    Hi Linda–that was fun—like you—I really enjoyed the teen quiz—on it I was TOTALLY right brained—-on the other one I was 9 on left brain—and 13 on right brain—keep up the insightful work—what does it mean if your pie tastes good—-but it looks REALLY awful?

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Karen,

      Tastes great (left brain measuring) and Looks awful (right brain creativeness) – this means that beauty is in the eye of the beholder and what you might judge to be awful, I will see as a work of art. 🙂

      Hugs!

      Linda Joyce

  15. Donald Clements says:

    Hey There, I’m a Left 10, Right 9. Guess that makes me a 50/50 split. Don

  16. michael2h says:

    Surprise, surprise! I’m *solidly* a right-brainer. Got a bit of left-brain in there, though, so maybe I’ll be alright. 🙂 These tests were fun, Linda, thanks for sharing, and for starting this discussion. 🙂

    …But now I *really* want pie. 😦

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Michael,

      I’m right brain, too. Though is was a surprise to me how more right brain than left brain I am. I mean me, with my Six Sigma training and insurance litigation background…guess that’s why I love to write.

      As for the pie…we could try to make it together, but with two “solidly” right brain folks, would it be edible? I’m a good cook, but baking is hard work. So much measuring!

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

      • michael2h says:

        Let’s just order a pie, and sit and eat it while we discuss writing; that seems like *much* more fun!

      • Linda Joyce says:

        Oh, you cruel man! Pie is not on my approve list of foods…not for several months. However, always aiming to please, I’ll have pie for you. You can eat and watch me drool. I’ll expect a bite by bite narrative to vicariously experience the pie. 🙂

        Smiles,

        LJ

  17. Tina says:

    I’m 7 left and 8 right–that makes a nice enough pie I guess. Thanks for this

  18. Linda, I know I’m more right than left, but wasn’t sure just HOW MUCH! Only 4 for left and 15 for right. No wonder I freeze when I look at my checkbook but have no trouble intuiting a decision out of the blue. Thanks for the fun quiz!
    Romney

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Romney,

      With a score of only 4 for the left, it’s a great thing that your hubby is an accountant! The two of you compliment each other beautifully.

      Smiles,
      Linda Joyce

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Theresa,

      Happy (soon to be) Anniversary!

      I read your blog post. I’m going to gander a guess about Pie Week in July. I’m guessing it’s because July is the height of the growing season for fresh fruits. My all-time favorite pie- Apple. I even like it with a slice of aged cheddar cheese melted on top.

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

Leave a Reply

