News Flash: EDGE OF MIDNIGHT…Mia Hale is discovered bloodied and disoriented, but alive!

A chance meeting at a writing conference brought Leslie Tentler and I together. I’d signed up for “Practice your Pitch with a Published Author” and Leslie arrived to work with my small group. She’s one of those lovely women – giving to others, polished, professional and very encouraging to other writers.

Leslie is the author of the critically acclaimed Chasing Evil trilogy from MIRA Books. Her third novel in the series – EDGE OF MIDNIGHT – will be released February 1.

However, while you’re waiting for the launch of her next book, you have time to read her other Romantic Suspense novels – Midnight Caller and Midnight Fear.

EDGE OF MIDNIGHT
The writer becomes the story when crime reporter Mia Hale is discovered on a Jacksonville beach – bloodied and disoriented, but alive. She remembers nothing, but her wounds bear the signature of a sadistic serial killer. After years lying dormant, The Collector has resumed his grim hobby: abducting women and taking gruesome souvenirs before dumping their bodies. But none of his victims has ever escaped – and he wants Mia back, more than he ever wanted any of the others.

FBI agent Eric Macfarlane has pursued The Collector for a long time. The case runs deep in his veins, bordering on obsession…and Mia holds the key. She’ll risk everything to recover her memory and bring the madman to justice, and Eric swears to protect this fierce, fragile survivor. But The Collector will not be denied. In his mind, he knows just how their story ends.

What RT Book Reviews Says About EDGE OF MIDNIGHT
4 ½ STARS

“A compelling plot, thick suspense, a cunning villain, a shattered cop and a victim who wants answers at any cost place Tentler in the same category as bestselling authors Lisa Jackson and Beverly Barton.”

Now, let’s talk with the woman who is bringing this exciting romantic suspense to us. I give you Leslie Tentler.

Leslie, how did you choose your pen name?
Actually, Leslie Tentler is my real name. Coincidentally, my mother-in-law and sister-in-law are named “Leslie Tentler,” too. There’s several of us!

Place of Birth?
Kingsport, Tennessee. It’s in the upper east part of the state, about forty-five minutes from Asheville, N.C., and about the same distance from Knoxville, Tenn.

Where do you reside now?
I grew up in Kingsport but have lived in metro Atlanta for the past 20 years.

Where would you like to live?
Anywhere with water. I’ve always dreamed of living at the beach or on the lake. There’s not a lot of water in Atlanta.

Dream vacation?

No phones or laptops, no deadlines, on a beach somewhere with lots of great, local seafood restaurants. And I’d be staying at a really nice, dog-friendly bungalow with a private pool.

Favorite Quote
“The rain on my car is a baptism. The new me, Ice Man, Power Lloyd – my assault on the world begins now.”
– Lloyd Dobler
From the movie “Say Anything”

When did you first want to write?
When I was in elementary school, I wrote a story about a real-life singer who gets kidnapped, with the abduction staged by his jealous older brother who wants to replace him in the spotlight. My mother kept that story in a drawer for a long time, and enjoyed bringing it out on occasion to torture me with it.

When did you consider yourself a writer?
I’ve felt like one pretty much right out of college, when I began working as a staff writer for an Atlanta PR firm. I took the job because it was right around the corner from the Margaret Mitchell house, which to me was really exciting.

One or two writing tips that provided an “ah-ha” moment for you?
Stick with the story you’re writing. If you abandon ship every time the storytelling gets rough, you’ll never get anything completed. I used to write a few chapters of a story idea, then would set it aside and move on to something new the first time I ran into a roadblock. Becoming a writer means powering through the obstacles and finding a way to tell your characters’ story.

Your tips about a writer’s life?
Writing is lonely, hard work. Find a network of friends who understand and support what you do. Also, don’t be too hard on yourself. Being your own worst critic is self-defeating behavior that can keep you from writing at all.

Lie(s) writers are told:
The next book will come faster and easier!

Favorite Writer:
Anne Rivers Siddons or Pat Conroy

Favorite Fiction Book:
Do I have to choose one?

Heartsick” by Chelsea Cain
Nora, Nora” by Anne Rivers Siddons
The Prince of Tides” by Pat Conroy
Big Stone Gap” by Adriana Trigiani

I’m also adding “Island of the Blue Dolphins” by Scott O’Dell because as a child, I used to check it out repeatedly from the library. It really captured my imagination.

Favorite Non-fiction Book
Dress Your Family in Corduroy & Denim” by David Sedaris

Favorite Poem
Antagonish” by Hughes Mearns. I think it’s so creepy. It always gives me goosebumps.

Yesterday, upon the stair,
I met a man who wasn’t there
He wasn’t there again today
I wish, I wish he’d go away…

Please let us know one special thing you’d like us to know about you.
I’ve had several readers who have contacted me and thanked me for writing my books, as they kept them entertained while going through a rough spot in life, such as a long hospital stay. The fact that something I wrote provided them with a temporary diversion from their problems means a lot to me.

Ways to connect with Leslie Tentler:

Website: http://www.LeslieTentler.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/leslietentler
Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/leslie_tentler

Midnight Caller at Amazon
Midnight Fear at Amazon
Edge of Midnight at Amazon

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews, Creativity, Mystery Stories, Romance stories, Romantic Suspense, Southern states, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to News Flash: EDGE OF MIDNIGHT…Mia Hale is discovered bloodied and disoriented, but alive!

  1. Fantastic interview. I love it when I discover a new author. I can’t wait to read Leslie’s book. And a 4 1/2 star rating from Romantic Times? Yowza!

    Thanks again, Linda for another wonderful interview.

  2. Naomi says:

    See..who says I can’t figure out how to find you, Leslie! So, is the new project going to turn into a series?? That would rock if you did that!

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Naomi,

      Leslie is the author of the critically acclaimed Chasing Evil trilogy from MIRA Books. Her third novel in the series – EDGE OF MIDNIGHT – will be released February 1. Leslie’s news is so exciting!
      ~Linda Joyce

      • Hi Naomi, you did find me! If you are on FB, I am also at http://www.facebook.com/leslietentler

        And I have no idea about a series yet – haven’t thought that far in advance. 😉 But let’s just say the detective does have a brother who could very well get his own story if it works out that way. Thanks for stopping by … and tracking me down!

  3. Hi Claire, thanks so much for stopping by. Linda is great, isn’t she? I hope you enjoy Edge of Midnight! 🙂

  4. Linda McFarland says:

    .looking forward to reading Leslie’s new book….’Edge Of Midnight….Leslie has a awesome talent for writing good mysteries….thank you Leslie

  5. Gena Robertson says:

    I’ve been looking forward to this blog tour so much! This book sounds so fabulous! Leslie is a new to me author, and I’m so excited to learn about her during this tour!

    Thank you so much for being her first stop!

  6. Pingback: News Flash: EDGE OF MIDNIGHT…Mia Hale is discovered bloodied and disoriented, but alive! | Ah! Sweet Romance! | Scoop.it

  7. pamelavmason says:

    Midnight Caller got me hooked. Midnight Fear got me scared. Don’t know if I have the guts to try Edge of Midnight … oh dang, who am I kidding?
    Of course I will!

    Thank you very much for hosting today Linda! What a great kickoff for Leslie’s tour!

    And yes, we’ll have to talk N’Awlins sometime!

  8. pamelavmason says:

    P.S. What I love about Leslie’s books, and what scares me about them…?
    Everything on the surface is so normal.
    But the evil that lurks beneath is so deep….

    The latent psycho who could be your friendly neighborhood manicurist…. 😉

  9. Linda, thanks so much for having me here today! So great to meet everyone!

Leave a Reply

