We are THE ones . . .

2012 started with sparklers and champagne. My husband and I in our wooded backyard celebrated the close 2011, a tough year. We turned our sights to the new one and reveled in hopefulness. Under a midnight blue sky with stars for sparklers, we toasted. I thought about all the positive possibilities for my life and my writing career.

In the following few days, I received emails from several friends sharing with me the Hopi Elders Message from The Elders, Oraibi, Arizona Hopi Nation. (If you haven’t read it all, let me know and I’ll pass it along.) I read the whole piece several times. One part really resonated with me, striking deep in my heart:

The time of the lonely wolf is over.
Gather yourselves!
Banish the word struggle from your attitude and vocabulary.
All that we do now must be done in a sacred manner and in celebration.
We are the ones we have been waiting for.

In the ‘gathering of yourselves’, new people are arriving in my life and old friends are reconnecting in new ways. I celebrate each of them. Friends are like sparklers, lighting up, burning bright – oh, so visible – when I need them most in my life.

Paul Goldman is one such friend. A man I’ve known a long time, since my earliest Kansas City days. With permission, I offer to you a poem Paul wrote that has great meaning for me.

Death & Rebirth

I go about the days
of my life sifting
through that which

has died and that
which is waiting
to be reborn.

The dead things
are gone- not served
any longer by mourning.

I choose
to celebrate

the constant rebirth,
finding now

that this secret
only resides
in where I place

my oft wandering attention.

(c)Paul Goldman January 6, 2012 All Rights Reserved


Paul Goldman is an Ecstatic Poet. His passion is fostering awakening in others.


Paul is celebrating the international release of his book, Journey Into Oneness by O- Books, United Kingdom, November 2011.

Please feel free to visit Paul at his Stone Spirit Lodge website, which contains a poetry blog. Or on facebook at: Wild Joy: The Ecstatic Poetry of Paul Goldman.

Please let me know if you were touched by Paul’s poem.

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Authentic Living, Author Interviews, Creativity, Soul Work, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

