Revise? Now? But, I just Started!

Like a Tango dancer, I’m working to polish my craft. I’m told that Tango, a basic eight-step dance, requires passion and seduction. I like one-word keys to prompt me when things aren’t going exactly as planned, thus Tango. With burgeoning writing passion barely contained, I have discovered I needed to dig deeper to harness the seduction part in order to produce a successful Tango.

The American Heritage dictionary defines seduction as: to entice or beguile into a desired state or position.

So, how will it entice me into the desired state? By revising my goals.

I wrote them down on New Year’s Day, even told a few folks about them, enlisting my over-developed sense of accountability to keep my goals front and center. After all, when you tell someone you’re going to do something, you must do what you say you will in order to maintain your integrity. I included specific tasks and exact completion dates, some for the first half of the year and two longer goals for writing new novels. Yet, a week into the year and I’m madly revising – how’s that like a writer?

My goals were not inclusive enough and the rewards too wimpy. I started with a slingshot launch, fast and forceful into 2012. However, on day three, my slingshot broke and I disappeared into a shell of quiet solitude, yet the internal voices kept shouting so loud that silence turned out only a dream.

What I did learn? I require a balanced approach to my goals, incorporating my writing ones with the ones for everyday living. Sounds simple enough, right? Maybe a brain cramp produced by too many fireworks on New Year’s Eve prevented me from seeing the obvious.

Therefore, I’m making lists of things I want to for this year: writing, home, garden, and travel. I’m going to color code the specifics goals completion dates into my calendar. I’ll let you know mid-year how it’s going.

How’s your Tango going?

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Authentic Living, Creativity, Uncategorized, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Revise? Now? But, I just Started!

  1. Dane Zeller says:

    1. Keep all receipts for writing expenditures.
    2. Eat three fruits and two vegetables a day.
    3. 500 words each day on my new novel.
    4. Three cups of green tea a day.
    5. Floss my teeth at bedtime.
    6. Blog once a week.

    have changed to:

    1. Lie on my tax return by April 15th
    2. Re-define the meaning of “vegetables” by Jan. 11th
    3. Recognize the counting errors by MS Word, word count feature. Do that now.
    4. Wash dishes every week so I can have a cup of tea.
    5. Write a short story with the character “Flossie” in it by Feb. 1
    6. Comment on other people’s blog once a week.

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Dane,

      Ahh, a man after my own heart…lol…So, how’s it going with the changes? Today is Jan. 11th. New definition for vegetables. How about a new pronunciation? In my family, the ones from New Orleans pronounce the word: ve*ge*te*bles, which helps when working with iambic meter.

      I’ll wait patiently for Feb. 1st. Would like to read about Flossie.

      Smiles,

      Linda Joyce

Leave a Reply

