You DON’T know what’s special about November 15th?

If you haven’t met John Riddle, let me introduce you. http://www.ilovetowriteday.org/
I Love to Write Day is his brainchild. He founded the day in 2002. Today, nine governors have officially proclaimed November 15 as I Love to Write Day in their states and they urge their residents to find time to write and celebrate the day.

Tomorrow is a day for celebrating the written word; after all, it’s how we communicate: books, newspapers, magazines, email, blogs, facebook, twitter, and the list goes on. John’s goal for November 15th is to encourage people of all ages to write something, a poem, a letter, an essay, begin a novel, finish a novel…the possibilities are endless!

In June, when I met John at the Southeastern Writers Association workshop, I also met Patrick Hempfing, a writer with a monthly column in moments. http://media.morristechnology.com/mediafilesvr/flv/flipbook/Moments/november2011/index.html On page 14, you’ll discover Patrick’s interesting twist on November 15th and how he’ll take the writing celebration to his daughter’s elementary class to mark the occasion. I’m wondering if he’s going to rally the governor’s office to make Georgia the 10th state to participate.

Not sure what to write? I’m sure your grandmother or long lost cousin would love a letter. However, here’s another suggestion. It comes from the writing class that I’m taking with Nancy Knight –
http://www.bellebooks.com/shopcontent.asp?type=NancyKnight

Take a few calming breaths, get comfortable in your chair, slide a piece of paper in front of you – this is sometimes easier than staring at a blank computer screen – then visualize these items: a cup, knife, book, rug, and a surprise element, such as a rose or skull.
Now write a paragraph using these elements. It will only take ten minutes.

When you’re done, please share them with all of us by posting them in Comments. Everyone comes from a different perspective and it makes reading the entries very fun. Don’t be bashful. Write! ~ Linda Joyce

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to You DON’T know what’s special about November 15th?

  1. That’s a great writing exercise. Fun to do with a group of folks, I’m sure. Lots of different outcomes with the same elements. Fun stuff!

  2. Great idea – and of course November 15th marks the mid way point for all of us doing NaNoWriMo

    Happy writing!

  3. Jan Morrill says:

    I wish I’d read this sooner – I could have used the motivation to write on November 15. 🙂 I’ll use it as a raincheck today. Good post, Linda!

  4. Clara v says:

    This day can also be used to encourage everyone to recognize what is correct spelling and to use it.

    • Linda Joyce says:

      I agree, yet have to chuckle. I’m a horrible speller. Growing up, because we moved around so much, each school had a different focus and after second grade, speed reading and comprehension were emphasized. So, I read really fast and remember a lot, but spelling…not so much. I’m working on it though. *grins*

Leave a Reply

