A Chat with author Amy Knupp

At the conference I attended last month, I overheard a writer say she’d looked at tons of author websites when developing her own. She expressed her disappointment at how many sites were incomplete, unrepresentative of the writer’s prose and even their personality. Not so with author Amy Knupp. Her author’s website reflects her individuality and doesn’t disappoint! Take a peek: http://www.amyknupp.com/index.php

Visually it’s eye appealing, sports some humor, and is brimming with positive attitude, just like Amy.

“I had to come out of the closet and declare myself a writer. Then, I had to come out of the closet and say, I write romance. When I tell people that, I stare, and dare them to bat an eyelash,” she said with great conviction.

Amy writes contemporary romance for Harlequin Superromance series. She’s the author of ten books including: Unexpected Complication, The Boy Next Door, Doctor in Her House and The Secret She Kept. Because of the List will be available in December 2011.

A member of Romance Writers of America for ten years, Amy enjoys spending time with other writers. “Non-writers are often fascinated by writers, how they do what they do, non-writers think there’s magic involved. Other writer’s understand the writing process.”

We discussed the merits and challenges of taking ‘writing every day’ and turning that into a completed manuscript. Amy started out trying to be the ultimate plotter. “I would love to be able to plot a book down to the scene, have all story problems worked out, and then just write it. I really wanted to be a plotter, but it hasn’t worked well. I’m not truly a pantser, but not really a plotter. I don’t know how a character will handle a situation until I’m in the moment writing the scene, only then do I know how a character will react/respond.”

Peering into Amy’s writing psyche, I wanted to know which author she might like to meet. Writers gain inspiration from other writers. We fall in love with a writer’s voice, how they craft a phrase, show us rather than tell us the story contained within the pages of a book. Sometimes our admiration flows beyond the writing to the person responsible for the writing creation.

The late, Kathleen Woodiwiss and other early romance writers inspired Amy. “They were groundbreaking in the genre. I respect that they pushed the limits of genre fiction, pushed it farther, and twisted it differently. They stood up and said they were romance writers long before the genre enjoyed the spotlight of success.”

Taking what she has learned from early romance writing pioneers, even after successfully a number of books, she takes her own advice. “Write every day. Have faith. Be persistent. Be open to learning. Keep learning, that’s really important. I try to pick up one new thing from a workshop or from an article. If you read an article and there’s one little thing that makes you think about something in a different way, twists a perspective, then it’s priceless.”

Like every writer, Amy’s career has evolved with time. In the beginning, she balanced changing diapers and caring for her babies while putting words on paper. Now she balances busy boys with busy schedules. Yet, she consistently writes every day. And like her life, she doesn’t know exactly what will come next until she’s in the scene. In Amy’s real-life story, she and her family have relocated from Lawrence, Kansas to Madison, Wisconsin. She’s excited to be a stay-at-home mom and to write. “The joy of writing for me is the actual art of writing, putting words on paper.”

Put Because of the List on your Christmas list and treat yourself this holiday.

In the meantime, of all of Amy’s characters, which one do you love the most and why?

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Chat with author Amy Knupp

  1. Jan Morrill says:

    Thanks for the introduction to Amy and her website, Linda. Her website is bright, not only in the colors and headers, but in her writing. And I love the stones and photos!

  2. Amy Knupp says:

    Thanks for visiting my site, Jan! And thank you again to Linda for the interview. 🙂

  3. Linda Joyce says:

    Thank you, Jan!
    And, I have Amy and her husband to thank for my website- they designed and created it. In a few words of discussion, Justin, Amy’s huband captured what I wanted. ~Linda Joyce

Leave a Reply

