Storm Country: The Anthology

Can you imagine going to school without a library or books?

Growing up, I moved at the command of father’s military career. While I played with other children, they moved through my life with the frequency of a revolving door. Books, however, were my friends. Anything I possibly wanted to experience waited inside the pages of a book. When I lived in New Jersey for only ten months, I received an award for reading the most books of any student in school – ever!

And, moving meant I experienced all sorts of weather. In Louisiana and Florida, hurricanes came from the Gulf of Mexico. Deep snows in New Jersey and Washington. Tornados in Nebraska and Kansas. Along with typhoons when I lived in Japan.

Closer to home, storms have ravaged the countryside. Devastating tornadoes. Droughts. Wildfires. Floods. And, the year isn’t over yet. Winter will roll in soon. If you’ve been touched by weather this year, you will be able to relate to the stories in Storm Country: The Anthology.

“Storm Country” is now available at https://www.createspace.com/3707021
or
by sending a check for $13.95 per copy to
MWG Joplin Book Drive
1203 Spartina Drive, St. Louis, MO 63031

All proceeds go toward
books, furniture and equipment for libraries
in the
Joplin School District.

My personal story of surviving a storm, Arctic Arkansas is included in this book. I hope you will consider giving a hand up to the children of Joplin, MO.

About Linda Joyce

Writing is a curious journey. You don't pick it, it picks you. See my website at www.Linda-Joyce.com to learn more about me.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Storm Country: The Anthology

  1. Claire says:

    Great post Linda! This year has had some horrible weather. I’m so glad the proceeds of this anthology go to Joplin libraries. I spent my entire childhood in the Springdale Public Library. I can’t imagine not having books in my life. Congrats on the great post and for Arctic, Arkansas!

    • Linda Joyce says:

      Thanks, Patty. I remember the very first time I was allowed to go to the library by myself. I lived at Fairchild, AFB and took the bus. It was the summer after second grade and I felt freedom like I’d never known. ~LJ

  2. Jan Morrill says:

    What a great way to raise money for Joplin libraries. Can’t wait to get my copy and read your story–what a winter!! Congrats, Linda!

    • Linda Joyce says:

      I hope you’ll pass the news about the book to others. While the tornado ripped Joplin apart, I believe it sends a message of hope to school kids there- the world cares.

Leave a Reply

